Daily Dose of Sultnpapper 10/09/18> One series down, two more to go for the Astros… and Shortie’s scheme.

in #dailydose6 years ago (edited)

A beautiful day for...

So, the Astro’s made pretty quick work of the Indians sweeping them in three games, the final game was in Cleveland on Monday afternoon and it looked like a beautiful day in Cleveland for an ass whooping, which is exactly what the Tribe got.

Didn't sit well...

The results of the Astros vs. Indians didn’t sit well with the entire Papper clan though, we have one little Indian that was rooting for the Tribe, that would be Shortie.

She has some Indian...

Shortie likes the fact that she has some Indian blood running threw her veins and so she decided that she would adopt the team from Cleveland as her own, she even has a “Tribe” shirt, which is the nickname for Indians from Cleveland.

No idea why...

It doesn’t hurt either though that my little sister happens to live up in that God forsaken area of worthless nuts known as Ohio. Those worthless nuts are known as Buckeyes and from what I am told serve no value what so ever. I have no idea why on earth the Ohio State University choose a worthless nut as their nickname, Buckeyes, but they did.

I'll "es plain"...

So, Shortie might have some ulterior motives working as well; Shortie doesn’t know that I know; but I know how her mind works. I know my little Indian is up to something and I’ll “es plain.”

My little sister and her husband are not what you would consider wealthy but they have done well for themselves and have accumulated plenty of nice things over their life time and seeing that they have no kids of their own it will be interesting to see just how the future goes when their wills are read.

"This is great...

My sister loves fine gold jewelry and she has quite the jewelry box full of gold and diamonds. I can remember when our oldest daughter was born and Sis told me,” this is great; now I have someone to leave my jewelry to.” Well Blondie was sitting pretty for a couple years being the only girl who would be in line to inherit jewelry from my Sis.

"....and poof..."

Then Shortie comes along and poof; Blondie’s haul just got cut in half when you look at it. Well, Shortie is a schemer when it comes to things sometimes; and I think she has been running a scheme disguised around the fact she has learned she has some Indian blood in that skinny little body of hers.

Jockeying for position...

In her mind she is jockeying for position as favorite niece with her aunt by adopting the aunt’s favorite baseball team. Knowing my sister like I do, she might not realize what is taking place so I am not about to sell Shortie out on this one. If she can pull this off and make it work for her more power to her.

Her sister has the same blood and could have done it just as easily as well, but she has been too busy trying new finger nail painting techniques to be concerned with major league baseball games.

A pretty smart move...

Adopting the aunt's favorite baseball team is really a pretty smart move on the youngster’s part and it really helped her cause that she watched the games and even was texting with her aunt as a couple of the games were going on.

That showed real interest on her part and I am sure my little Sister was just eating it up, even though the Tribe was losing every game.

Shortie has been...

Little does my sister know that Shortie has been taking marketing classes through Girls Scouts and I really think Shortie has been applying some of the skills she has been learning in those classes in branding herself as a real Tribe fan.

Girl Scout Cookie CEO...

Shortie is a Girl Scout Cookie CEO, which means she was one of the top sales persons in the Harris County / San Jacinto Council and that got her invited to take part in all these special training sessions that are held once a month.

She takes selling...

She takes selling real seriously. I can tell you that and she isn’t one of these high pressure sales types, she uses creativity with her sales approaches, and she has even created “cookie buyer” profiles so when she see’s someone she knows just what approach to take. I guess profiling is allowed in Girl Scouts, and may even be being taught, I need to ask her about that.

So well thought out...

Her plan is so well thought out that right now Girl Scouts are doing their fall products sales and she is purchasing a basket with her own money and having it sent to her aunt as a surprise. She is light years ahead of her big sister on working their aunt for the number one niece spot, and it may very well work.

The only thing Blondie has working for her right now is her blonde hair. If I showed a picture of my Sis at thirteen and Blondie right now it would be hard to tell them apart from the pictures, that is how much resemblance there is between the two of them.

What she will look...

I always tease Blondie that if she wants to know what she will look like in 40 years or so just look at her aunt. My sister has aged pretty well so it isn’t like it would scare the young girl, just give her an idea that’s all.

"We may as well..."

So right after the game on Monday Shortie and her aunt had phone visit and they both agreed that maybe next year will be the Tribe’s year. Since the Astros are moving on in the playoffs, Shortie got her aunt now pulling for the Stros’s. I heard her tell my sister, “We may as well root for the Astros, it would be good for our team to have at least lost to the team that will probably win it all.”

I don't know...

I don’t know that the Astros will “win it all” but they did last year for the first time in the history of Houston Major League Baseball and so it may just happen that they go back to back as World Series Champions.

One thing I do...

One thing I do know for sure is that Mattress Mack is rooting for the Astros to win it all and so are a bunch of his customers of his furniture store. He is running the same promotion that he ran last year where if you bought over $3,000 in mattresses and springs and the Astros win the World Series, you get your money back from the purchase.

I did a Daily Dose last year after the World Series was done and the numbers revealed on how he came out financially on that promotion. He came out about $3.5 or $4 million better off than if he had not done the promotion and just did his normal fall type sales with x % off.

The story of Mac...

I looked for the post where I explained how he managed to pull that off but I couldn’t find it, I must have included that in a Daily Dose where it wasn’t reflected in the title. I did find the post where I told the story of Mattress Mack and about the promotion so here is the link to it, if you care to learn more about Mac.

One series down...

So, one series down and two to go for the Astros, Mattress Mac, Shortie and Sis; I have a feeling they will all come out winners again this year, especially Shortie.

Until next time,
@sultnpapper

Note: Thanks for reading the Daily Dose.
Photo Credits : All photos are the property of @sultnpapper.

Sort:  

We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS @steemitbloggers family!
uvoted and resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 277 (10/10/18)

I don't think Shortie fell far from the apple tree...she is going to be in sales for sure! Sounds like she has a bead on her inheritance anyway. I wonder if Blondie will wake up and smell the coffee anytime soon?

I don't know that Blondie will, unless it is double mocha latte with whip cream on it from Starbucks, she can smell those a mile away.
Shortie is a clever little pistol and while I am sure my sister will be fair with the both of them, it might just be Shortie gets first dibs on some things if Sis decides to let them pick and choose.
Or I could be totally wrong and Shortie is just embracing her Indian heritage? No, I am not wrong, forget I even questioned myself on that.

Well, let's get something out of the way right away. I'm a Mariner and so I officially don't like the 'Stros. I hate the As, but the Astros haven't been in the league long enough to get the same maltreatment as Texas and the As. Matter of fact, I was pretty pleased at the end result last year because I've hated the Dodgers since my childhood.

I liked the Dodgers automatically because they were the first team west, and I actually remember when my Dad and I could listen to baseball on a local channel instead of having to tune in KOA Denver with his 'crystal set'. That and the Dodgers AAA farm team was in Spokane. I saw Frank Howard hit what may be the longest blast ever in Spokane. He walloped a shot to center field that even my 10 year old mind knew was special. It flew out of the lights at least 100 feet above the fence, and looked to be still rising.

Anyway, because of my Mariner history I can't exactly root for the Astros but I'll be happy if they go back to back. Particularly if the Dodgers are the victim.

That Shortie is quite a kid. Not that I've ever had much, but none of my nephews has ever sucked up to me, and it's getting close to time if any of them ever plan to...

I remember you talking about the Mattress marketing. That's pretty impressive, no wonder he's the king.

I'm looking forward to Boston v Houston. That is raw power against raw power. The Yankees were my first hated team because my Dad liked them. Some things never go away.

So I'm down to it. Go Shortie.

The change of leagues a while back has made the Astros seem like a "new franchise" in baseball. The truth is, the have a long history of being losers and so these last couple of seasons are making up for several years of bad memories. They are a young team age wise so they could be a force to reckoned with if management is willing to spend the money to keep them together as contracts start coming up for renewal.
Shortie is a smart one, and she plays life and poker with a real good poker face. She didn't even hint of smile when she had pocket 8's and they were matched up with the pair of 8's on the flop.
I was holding pocket aces, the third card on the flop was an ace. I wanted to "milk" her for all her chips I could get so I made a medium size bet and she called. The next card was a four on the turn and so I put out a bet that put in half her chips and she called. My plan was working in my mind, and seeing that I was the shorter of us on chips, I was being careful not to be to greedy. The last card was another "nothing" card in the outcome, so I shoved all in she promptly called.
I flipped over that full boat of aces and eights and started to reach for the pot. "Not so fast Dad" she said still not even cracking a smile, "I have a pair of 8's, and that pair on the board and my pair make four eights. Read em and weep." as she flipped her pocket cards over. Then she cracked a little smile and raked in the pot.

She can sure hide what she is doing and what she is holding and I can tell you she let me play myself right to the status of eliminated. If she keeps playing poker she can be a very good player because she can hide what she is doing and holding, but having seen it myself I know how to read her now. That is something my Sister and Blondie haven't seen so they don't know what they are in for.
I am not a big baseball fan but I am a big fan of Mattress Mac so I also am pulling for the home town team and MM. I should be "neutral" when it comes to the girls, but in this case, I can't help but pull for Shortie because I see her holding a pair of eights.

Oh my goodness, little Shortie is quite a smart cookie if I do say so...Smart things come in small packages I guess. I really got a visual, picturing Blondie doing her nails and Shortie selling cookies at the local market. What a pair. You must be so proud of them. Your sister is really in for a run for her money so to speak. Guess you have taught them well! Love this post @sultnpapper, as always enjoyed my morning with your great read! :)

Thanks, I couldn't ask for better kids, more healthier maybe, but not better. Thanks for your ongoing support of the Daily Dose. Very much appreciated for sure.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64507.66
ETH 3080.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85