Daily Dose of Sultnpapper 11/05/18> I have a new pair of Spurs…

in #dailydose5 years ago (edited)

Not a clue...

Well the weekend is over and I don’t have a clue what this week has in store as far as work goes, but I guess they will figure out where they want to send me sooner or later.

This past weekend...

This past weekend though the girls spent the weekend at the Girl Scout camp about thirty miles north of here and they had a great time. They have wanted to join the Spurs program up there and the camp only holds one training session each year and this weekend was it.

This Spurs program...

This Spurs program is so that the girls can become volunteers to work the camp, specifically the horseback riding part of the camp. They limit the number of girls to 50 who can apply and go through the training and those spots fill up real fast, registration was online and the day the registration opened it was full within two hours.

Blondie was the...

Blondie was the main one who was interested but Shortie doesn’t like being outdone by her big sister so she wanted to give it a try as well. The girls weren’t allowed to talk on their phones while they were there but they did get a couple text messages out on Saturday afternoon to let us know how they were doing.

Indians and Cowboys...

Blondie said the main lady was really impressed with her knowledge of horses and her riding ability. The woman thought Blondie might have her own horses as good as she was doing. Well that isn’t the case, but I text her back and told her it is pretty obvious where the skills come from, they are in your DNA. “You are part Indian on your Mamma's side of the family and part cowboy on my side. It is in your blood.”

The reply back...

To which I received the reply back that I am a racist. I have been down that road before on here, so it doesn’t bother me. But how is pointing out someone’s heritage racist? It is a good thing in this case, Cowboy’s and Indian’s have something in common and that is horses.

A written test...

Anyway the girls had to do a bunch of things with the horses and they even had to take a written test in order to pass the first level of training. Blondie and Shortie were in different groups for the training since it went by age and so I know they didn’t cheat off of each other when came to the written test.

So, congratulations...

Both did very well; Blondie scored a 94 on the written test and Shortie scored a 96 so out of a possible score of 100 my math puts them at a grade level of an “A”. So, congratulations girls on passing and earning your way into the SPURS program. That name “SPURS” is an acronym for something but I don’t know what and they are both asleep right now or I would check with them.

The other thing is...

The other thing is now they want me to become a volunteer up there so that they can get even more weekends up there at the camp. We’ll have to see about that, I have had my fill of horses for the time being. If it involved just horses and cattle and riding fence lines I would probably do it, but I know what this is about and I am well past mucking horse stalls.

I was also informed...

I also was informed they both need new cowboy boots. I least I won’t have to buy them both a new pair of spurs, the girls scout camp doesn’t allow their Spur’s members to ride with spurs. That would kind of be like belonging to a fishing club that didn’t allow you to use hooks while you fish.

The other thing...

The other thing I found interesting was that they have a weight limit on how much you can weigh in order to ride horses there. If you weigh over 200 lbs. you aren’t climbing in a saddle at this camp. I didn’t get a look at their horses, but they must be some old broke down nags if they can’t handle just 200 lbs. This place is serious too, they have a scale and if you look like you might even be close they make you get on the scale.

I did manage...

I did manage to get four drawings done over the weekend and I have a couple more for during the week so looks like the poker game will be on the back burner for the most of this week.

That fall weather...

Oh, and for those of you wondering why the Daily Dose on Sunday showed it was being written at 3:00 AM but didn’t get posted until almost 10:00 AM.. I’ll let you in on a little secret. Mrs. Papper woke up and lured me back to bed, yes, that fall weather cool spell will do that …

Until next time,
@sultnpapper

Note: Thanks for reading the Daily Dose.
Photo Credits : All photos are the property of @sultnpapper.

Sort:  

Well, you and I are in full agreement once again. If I never throw a leg over a horse again, I'm really ok with that. I rode every day for about 10 years growing up. Enough. Last time I was in the saddle it wasn't a horse but a mule. Turns out he and I did about 25 miles together one day and got along just fine. It was a smooth ride, but my ass still hurt like crazy the next day. I was maybe 30, and yes, there was also a woman involved.

200 lb limit? That's the limit for those little burros that go up and down the Bright Angel Trail on the Grand Canyon, and I understand that. Little buggars can't weigh much over 500 themselves. I haven't weighed under 200 for a long time, just out of High School. I was so damn skinny I had to stand just right to make a shadow.

But congratulations to the Girls. Blondie and Shortie did themselves proud just getting there!

It's not that I don't like horses, I do. When they are in somebody elses' pasture. I have a cousin here in Prescott Valley that has a therapy horse program going on. She retired maybe 15 years ago as an engineer at Motorola, and her husband retired a couple years ago, I don't think either one is 50. Anyway, their daughter loved horses so they got her one and did the lessons thing in SoCal while she was growing up. April liked it and started herself (she'd first ridden at our place when she was a kid) but is pretty much type A so fell in with a shrink that was using horses as a therapy tool for wounded vets. Both of them being vetrans and all. Anyway, the two of them are still at it, but the horses are in AZ now. I like to go visit April's horses cause I don't have to do anything with them but talk. Perfect.

I've got another cousin that has moved to the NE of Phoenix (Cave Creek, I think) that I haven't even stopped in to see yet. Also over horses, or more correctly, riding and instruction. Their daughter is in the Olympic program and they retired to where her preferred instructor is.

So. If you aren't mucking stalls, what are you going to do there?

Good Monday to you. I hope your week isn't as hectic as it sounds...

I love the horses and there isn't many things better than riding a good cutting horse into a herd of cattle and cutting a cow from the herd. That is a fine experience and I do miss that. The thing about it, and horses in general, is it all comes at a big price and it is continuous expense.
So I don't mind taking the girls when they want to go to the camp, in the long run I will come out a whole lot better off financially and it is good for the girls as well.
The good part is when they have had enough they can just walk away from it and I don't have to worry about having to get rid of any animals.
Thanks for the continued support, very much appreciated.

That sounds like a great program for the girls to be in! Anything to teach them some useful skills is always a plus in my book. Sounds like they did great on the test! I have some Indian in my blood as well, but not enough to be a card carrying member (or at least no one has ever taken them time to prove it). I like how you've broken up your page into little paragraphs with subheadings. :) It makes for nice readability.

They did do well on their test and I think that had to do with them studying with each other and I worked with Shortie some since she was the most worried of the two.
Most of the test was on the anatomy of the horse, so I had her take and use a old plastic horse and write each name in the proper location as I would call them out, that way she could visualize where it was on the horse and also practice writing the word. Then when we were done I would grade how she did.
She then started doing that with her sister during the day too. So it evidently worked really well for that part of the test.
I started using this format to the Daily Dose a couple of months ago after I took the course the Nate Sumantra had on his blog. It was a real good course on how to use markup and I think it works well for me. Glad you like it and expressed that to me. Thanks.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 303 (11/05/18)

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Congratulations to the girls! Those are pretty nice and high scores! 💚

I'll pass those congrats along to them, thanks for your support of the Daily Dose.

Congrats to Blondie and Shortie. Well done.

I have only been on a horse twice in my life; come to think of it, I've been on a camel or an elephant more than that! Lol!

May you and yours be well and love life today.

Namaste, JaiChai

Thanks Jai, I will pass those congratulations along to them. I have only ridden a camel and elephant once in my life and that was plenty for me.
I love riding horses but I am done owning them so this will work out good for me and the girls.
I appreciate you stopping by and your support. Have a great week as well.

Haha racist daddy you are mr Papper ;);)
Well done to the girls though!
Glad to hear you're getting the upper hand with the drawing program!

Actually, I don't have the upper hand on that new program, I have been using my old program right now as I am still learning the new one. I know I should just focus totally on the new one but if I do the drawings would take me twice as long right now so I can get them done quicker just using my old program and converting files.
I'll pass that "well done" along to them.
Thanks.

howdy sir sultnpapper! hey who called you a racist, your daughter? now that makes no sense at all! But I'm glad they're able to do that, good experience for them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17