Daily Dose of Sultnpapper 11/28/18> Well that was kind of fun… or at least I am telling myself it was.

in #dailydose5 years ago (edited)

So, I got myself...

So, I got myself roped into that random facts challenge thing last Daily Dose and between work and making all the replies to the comments I received I have plum ran myself up against the clock for getting this Daily Dose done.

This Daily Dose...

This Daily Dose is being written on the road from Mesquite, Texas as I traveled up here on Monday afternoon so I would be ready for work on Tuesday.

Back during the last week of October I was up here and working on a project that was interrupted by rain. Well the rain finally has let up and the ground has dried out enough that we could get that big crane truck back out there and finish up that project so Tuesday was a long day of hard work.

So I have to ask...

So I have to ask; shower or bath? What do you prefer and why?

I am a shower guy myself for the most part but I have to say I broke from my normal choice on Tuesday after work. I would have been done with this Daily Dose if I hadn’t soaked my body in that hot bath for damn near an hour and half after I ate supper.

I made the mistake...

I made the mistake of not drinking enough water while working Tuesday and my legs were cramping up at the end of the day so I needed to just soak and absorb as much water as I could through my skin as well as drinking a whole bunch of it after work.

I know better...

I know better than to let myself get dehydrated like I did but (always a "but") when you are out on the middle of a golf course and no place where you can just take a leak when you need too you have a tendency to hold off drinking too much. I don’t imagine the golfers would like seeing a bunch of workers whizzing while we worked and they golfed.

We only had that crane truck scheduled and budgeted for one day of installation so we couldn’t waste any time what so ever. We worked from daylight until just before dark but we got everything set we needed the crane for so today is just a matter of hooking things up and getting the pumps running.

With any luck I will be heading south on I-45 this afternoon and sleeping at home tonight.

So back to the...

So back to the question and reasoning for the choices.

I think baths just waste to much water when you get right down to it. There is only so much water you can pump from the ground and I try and make sure that I am responsible when it comes to using water.

I can shower in about five to six minutes and the shower heads they sell now have flow restrictors in them that only allow two to three gallons a minute of water thru them, so a normal shower for me uses less than twenty gallons of water.

Filling the bath...

Filling the bath tub takes just about a double that amount of water and I don’t get any cleaner laying it the tub as opposed to standing and showering.

Plus around our place, hot water goes pretty quickly if everyone decided to take a bath instead of showering. When the kids were younger the bath was the thing for them but they have all transitioned too showering so that is sure helpful in not ending up with only cold water to shower with.

So how many...

So how many “environmentalists” around this place still take baths I wonder. I am guessing there is probably more than a handful of them that like soaking in the tub and thinking about how they can save the planet.

Well, they could start by standing up and taking a shower in case they haven’t thought of that yet. Not only will there be more available drinking water but there is also less water that has to be treated at the water treatment plants and that will save on electricity too.

I guess you could...

I guess you could just consider this Daily Dose portion on showering a continuation from yesterday’s challenge, that makes random fact number 12. Showers instead of baths.

Until next time,
@sultnpapper

Note: Thanks for reading the Daily Dose.
Photo Credits : All photos are the property of @sultnpapper.

Sort:  

I'm glad you got the golf course mostly fixed. I'm presuming there are bolted flanges and electrical connections yet to finish. Those flanges always seem to take significant effort with a bar or two getting the damn things lined up. Once you get the third bolt started you are in business.

I am into water conservation and I honestly believe that every person in the Colorado River drainage should be. Water is measured by the drop here. I also shower mostly. Once in a while my bones and joints get to aching and a bath can feel soooo good. That's way more about personal pleasure rather than bathing for me.

Water conservation was a part of our politics here this fall. We are coming up on the expiration of the 'Colorado Compact' that is a treaty that specifies who gets what.

This will surprise you (not). California gets the most. If anybody is left with the short end of the stick it's Mexico. The Colorado doesn't run to the Gulf of California anymore, the delta is completely dry.

Anyway there was some (dry) mud slung around about water and how to make it go farther. One thing that is gaining traction is to prohibit the export of alfalfa hay. We are exporting hundreds of thousands of gallons of water to Saudi, England and Europe. People there have gotten to like the taste of milk and beef and raise their hay in Arizona. It's not a little dab, either. I'm pretty familiar with the Saudi farm (it's owned offshore) and it is a monstrous operation that is all in hay.

So water is important. Shower with a friend, indeed.

Here's hoping your flanges all line up and the indicators you left on the electrical connections are still there...

This is a whole new pump station; the only existing pieces left from the previous is the discharge pipe out to the golf course.
Plenty of flanges to bolt up for sure and the lining up of them "needed adjustment" in some cases.
I may do a Daily Dose on this in the near future.
Good alfalfa hay is very desirable and if I remember right, Arizona doesn't have blister beetles so that is a big bonus and probably why the Saudi bought there or one of the reasons.
Thanks for the well wishes, could have used more of them as we ended up having to pull the small pump and shorten the pipe without the use of a crane. That was a job so I didn't get to head home yet, probably today on that.(heading home).

I think we get most of the world's rainfall here in Scotland, and I put it to good use - I love baths. I hadn't actually thought about the rehydration benefits, but I certainly enjoy a good soak to rest my muscles after indoor climbing or bouldering, which I generally do twice a week or more, and certainly after a hillwalk. And I take my bath just before bedtime, so it relaxes me.
I try to stick to three or four baths a week, because of the electricity use, but with many governments, including ours, about to use taxation to make everyone shift from oil-powered to electric vehicles, I don't think they're really that bothered about the environmental cost of electricity, and certainly in the great scheme of things I don't think me taking four baths a week instead of showers will make much difference.

Nothing as restoring as a fragrant soak in the bath after long hours on my feet, rarely shower, only after a day's messy gardening, otherwise the shower's hubby's domain!

Maybe us men don't usually work hard enough to need a long soaking bath to get restored. I know I need those soakings the last couple nights. We just shower to get the stink off of us, and not to help recover from hard work.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 324 (11/27/18)

I prefer showers, but I'm usually in there a while, shaving legs, shampooing hair, etc.

It's also easier for me to clean the shower walls while I am in there, so I sometimes take the cleaning brush in there, too and scrub the tiles when they need it.

Bubble baths can be fun once-in-a-while, but soaking in a tub of hot water drains me of all energy, relaxes me a bit too much, where all I can do is stumble, in a stupor, towards the bed afterwards. 😂

It was relaxing for sure and soothing but I didn't have any leg cramps after that the rest of the night and that was the main reason for soaking. Looks like showers are the preferred method of personal hygiene with most Daily Dose followers when it comes to getting clean.
Thanks for the support and your input. It doesn't surprise me one bit that you multi-task even in the shower : ) : )

Shower, because it's faster. Also requires less frequent/stringent tub cleaning here in the cork pad, and because singing just doesn't sound the same in a tub full.

But like you, if I'm really sick, or injured, I do sometimes enjoy a soak but even then, it's more or less last resort.

It should be noted that while I can swim well, and have snorkeled, etc, I'm not that into pools, or the beach either. Hot tubs have their merits, depending on the company.

I have been known to spend time in some hot tubs at the hotels I stay at but I didn't pack any swim trunks this trip and I don't know if this hotel even has one.
I sure needed the soaking, I was in there so long the skin on my hands looked like wrinkled prunes when I got out of the tub.
Thanks for your support and reply 'Cork.

Likwise, support and reply wise. Don't prune out too much, we're both getty wrinkly enough as it is, young man.

Out of 100 times, I shower 99 times and take 1 bath. I guess the numbers are fine, I am ok with them. I prefer a shower for a couple of reasons. It is faster, uses less water and it is MORE HYGENIC. I can not imagine myself lying in dirty water lol so even when I do take a bath that one out of 100 times, I shower first and the bath is strictly for relaxation purposes. I put on some relaxing music, turn the light off and light some candles, pour my self a glass of red wine and light up a cigarette. Awwww.... the simple pleasures. Oh and one more thing, showers need to be cold and baths need to be extra hot, I have no specific reason why I love them like that, I just do :)

Yes, hard to rinse off the soap with dirty soapy water when you think about it. I can't go along with the cold showers though, steamy hot for me.

I am a shower person myself, just more efficient time wise and for the planet using less water

Yep. I agree. thanks for weighing in and your support.

Always a pleasure to visit, been a bit slack for a couple of weeks but trying to get back up to speed on here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64579.45
ETH 3101.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83