Daily Dose of Sultnpapper 12/03/18> Discord feature I didn’t know existed… and more.

in #dailydose5 years ago (edited)

I learn something new...

I learn something new it seems just about every day and I learned something new on Sunday. That something new that I learned has to do with the Discord service that just about all the groups here on steemit use. I didn’t know that you can make phone calls on discord.

Missed two ...

I discovered that Sunday evening when I decided to set down and write this edition of the Daily Dose. I was away from the computer a good part of the day and missed two phone calls on discord from @cecicastor earlier in the day. How many of you knew about this feature?

My next question is, why didn’t any of you ever mention this to me?

I have been on here over a year now and just discovering things still, you people know I am not tech savvy, so what else am I missing?

@phoenixwren is also...

@phoenixwren is also a good friend of Ceci’s and she also heard from Ceci and did a post updating us on Ceci’s situation so I won’t copy and paste the message I received this time in a Daily Dose Special edition, here is the link to at @phoenixwren’s blog post so you can check it out here.

This discord phone call...

This discord phone call thing has my interest though as there are a number of people that I would enjoy actually saying hello to in different parts of the world. Have any of you ever made a phone call using discord? I did the Pimp Your Post Thursday one time and presented a post and used the voice thing in there doing the push to talk button. Is the phone call thing similar to that? If so I need to get my head phone / microphone set up back and get it working again.

I had some issues...

I had some issues the second time around I tried to use and didn’t ever get it figured out after that first time so I sort of gave up on it. But if I can use it to make voice contact through a phone call with some of you I will damn sure figure it out.

I can see the Mrs. Papper now; it would be the middle of the night and I would be on the phone on discord and she would come in and say, “Just who are you talking too?” There was an automobile insurance commercial where the husband was talking to the insurance company agent on the phone in the middle of the night and the wife grabs the phone from him and says, “Who is this?” For some reason I could see a similar situation happening, so maybe voice calling isn’t such a great idea now that I think about it.

Ceci asked how the...

Ceci asked how the church boycott is going and I really haven’t updated much on that recently. There really isn’t much to update since it is still ongoing. The only change has been that Blondie has returned to helping with bible school on Sunday mornings twice a month since she has been missing out on her volunteer hours she is trying to accumulate. On those Sunday’s she does skip the church service and I go pick her up so she can come home and watch the preacher from Lakewood Church here in Houston give us our weekly dose of preaching from the bible. Thirty minutes in front of the TV beats a full hour in the church pews as far as I am concerned.

I did confess...

I did confess in a comment on Sunday that I did skip this week’s TV church service. It was just to pretty a day here to let it go by without being outside and getting something done. The truck needed a good wash and wax so it got the time on Sunday instead of Joel O’Steen. Blondie didn’t have to watch by herself though, Shortie stayed home from the local church since she wasn’t feeling that great on Sunday morning.

I do know that...

I do know that I will be gone at least one night this week as I have a little project on Wednesday morning just outside of Corpus Christi, Texas and that is just too far of a drive to make on that morning. That means that I will be passing by Mustang Creek BBQ and so I have my appetite getting worked up for there. That stop will most likely happen on the way back as they are sometimes closed on Tuesday’s which is when I’ll be heading past there on the way to Corpus Christi.

Not much else...

Not much else new in the world of sultnpapper so I will cut you lose now; I need to go check the television schedule for the funeral services for that good old Texan and great former president George Herbert Walker Bush, and if you believe that I also have some ocean front property in Arizona I would like to sell you.
Until next time,
@sultnpapper

Note: Thanks for reading the Daily Dose.

Photo Credits : All photos are the property of @sultnpapper.

Sort:  

it's pretty much exactly like being in a voice chat in a server except it is private ... you can do group voice chats but keep in mind the more people who join the call the weaker the connections seem to get.

So, for one to one private voice chat .. it works great most of the tie.. group ones.. best done i a voice chat channel in a discord server.

Thanks @shadowspub for the explanation and advice, very much appreciated along with your support.

This post is sponsored by @SteemitBloggers in collaboration with @appreciator. Just keep up the good work.



Thank you so much.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 329 (12/03/18)

I must admit, I had not realized this either. After reading your post, I found myself wondering if I should let the new people who's introdocution posts I comment on know about discord in my "Welcome to SteemIt" post. Well, thank you so much for jogging my brain into gear. It is greatly appreciated.
Ren

No problem, thanks for dropping by and giving me the opportunity to be useful to you today. No doubt we can always learn something if we just keep our eyes open.

That is what really keeps us young, isn't it, keeping our minds active and learning new things.

Yep, it sure seems that way.

I think dreemsteem told me about it a couple of months ago and I remember that I was completely blown away and surprised like you were pleasantly surprised. Happy discord talks to you!

When I looked at my screen and saw I had missed two phone calls, I was like "what the guzbuck?" Then I started looking and sure enough there is a phone button on there. Now I need to see how to set it up. Thanks, I sure can appreciate that you were surprised too. Kind of amazing that we can use something for that long and never realize it.

Oh yes, it's a great tool is Discord! A free version of Skype effectively - you just need to make sure that the input is set up to be your microphone and output is your speakers/headphones so people can hear you and you can hear them - other than that, pretty straightforward to use :)

Thanks Nick, I am going to look into that later today.

It happens to me that I have clicked on that button several times but I thought OH NOOOOO what's happening?! And clicked on it again :D my investigation didn't go further than this though :D

I like your second question :) Why didn’t any of you ever mention this to me? I had such situations several times at work.. why didn't you tell me? Well, was I supposed to know that you were interested in it if you never asked? :D

Of course you are supposed to know I am interested, even if you aren't a mind reader, (I am not) when I know something that might interest someone I will preface telling them something with, "Hey, did you know..." and then tell them what ever it is that I think might be of interest or is at least of interest to me. Then they can tell me it does or doesn't interest them.
So in the future if you find something interesting just ask me or anyone else , "Did you know..."

Yes, that "phone call" feature is exactly like talking in a group-chat in a server (like PYPT), except it is only between two individuals in private, like Skype or something similar. I've never used it, though, but I have also returned to my computer to discovered I "missed a call" from someone. That feature is helpful, I suppose, for folks who have a difficult time typing, or have a long conversation to hash-out.

I could see it being a big help in keeping in touch with Ceci since she has very limited time on the computer with her situation and unable to post written stuff on her blog. Thanks.

It's a nice day for it

Thanks. Much appreciated.

Thank you Traci and #steemitbloggers, very much appreciated.

You're very welcome, @sultnpapper! 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17