Daily Pet Photography. 'Afghan Hound.'

'Afghan Hound.'

This is my entry for the Daily Pet Photography contest organized by @dpet

There is nothing ordinary about Afghan Hounds. In fact, these aloof and dignified dogs have a definite aristocratic appearance about them. But don’t be fooled! These profoundly loyal dogs often exhibit silly behaviour which can be very endearing.

x6tz26gocj.jpg

Their most remarkable feature is their thick, silky flowing coats which served effectively as protection against the harsh mountain climates of Afghanistan from where they originated. Afghans are agile and powerful and more than capable of hunting for the course of a day in rough terrain with the help of their large paws which act as shock absorbers.

el5dr7frsp.jpg

One breed expert writes,

“It’s not the breed for all would-be dog owners, but where the dog and owner combination is right, no animal can equal the Afghan Hound as a pet.”

c4mkhx6z4e.jpg

The Afghan Hound is not recommended for apartment living. They are relatively inactive indoors and do best on acreage and require long, daily walks. When this doesn’t occur, Afghans will exhibit behavioural problems. Although this breed enjoy the outdoors, they are happy to sleep indoors, therefore the best scenario is to have access for them to come and go as they please.

z05s1hb8ad.jpg

They are high maintenance dogs and need to be groomed carefully for one full hour by-weekly and specific grooming instruments may be required. Their coats should never be trimmed and they need to be bathed once a week. They shed often but brushing will reduce shedding to some extent as well as making their coats softer and cleaner.

Afghans have a life expectancy of approximately 12 years which is similar to other dogs of their size. Training can be a difficult experience requiring patience and perseverance and perhaps the benefit of a professional obedience school.

5qpjpontv3.jpg

The Afghan hound is typically a one-person or one-family dog and will not greet other people with exuberance for this reason. In fact, they often appear to be rather snobbish and indifferent towards people. They will bark a couple of times when strangers come near but they do not make good watchdogs.

Source #1

Source #2

THANK YOU FOR VIEWING. HAVE A GREAT DAY.

wt9p7tuiz2.gif

Posted using eSteem Surfer

09nl4xkzj2.png

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thanks very much @pixresteemer 💐

What an amazing dog! Great photos too, they'd go great in the country.

What an amazing
Dog! Great photos too, they'd go
Great in the country.

                 - janton


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

They're quite remarkable aren't they John? I enjoyed getting these photos.

They really are. It think their long hair wouldn't work too well in Texas but I guess they do okay in the heat because it's even hotter down there so maybe they would be fine here!

Interesting looking critter, i wonder what they hunt for in afghanistan.

Posted using Partiko Android

They certainly are @sketch.and.jam. That's a good question you ask. I googles it and came up with this answer. "Afghan Hounds date back to the time of the Egyptian Pharaohs. Initially the breed was used a coursing hound by nomadic tribes to hunt for meat and hare, with the help of falcons, who swooped down on the prey."

Wow so they would flush out the prey for the falconers. I bet they are a bit loud too as pets probably similar traits as other hunting hounds.

Posted using Partiko Android

Simply gorgeous, in my eyes! Their coat is different than what I am used to. The ones I have seen are more like this:

source

More along the silky looking fur. I love the regal look, but, I am not sure I want to spend all day brushing my dog! :)

Thanks for all the fun facts about them. I didn't know that much about them, but, always happy to learn!

!tip

Oh what a beautiful dog.......and very well groomed. I don't think a dedicated owner would have time for many other hobbies (like Steemit) would they? It's nice to admire other people's Afghan Hounds and this was the first time I had seen one, so it was a memorable experience.

Many thanks for the kind visit and tip Denise. Very much appreciated. 💐

🎁 Hi @trudeehunter! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Sublimely Eclectic On A Beautiful Sunday Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

It is amazing how many breeds of dogs there are and how individual their needs are. Thanks for the share on this beautiful hound. Not sure I could ever handle such a high maintenance breed, but they do look pretty fabulous.

I agree with you there @atalaya I saw many different breeds at this animal expo and really enjoyed getting up close to this fine looking Afghan Hound.

I wonder what kind of silly things they do. Animals can be so funny.

Posted using Partiko Android

I wondered the same thing when I read this too. I'd really like to see a dog of this size acting silly. They are such remarkable looking dogs.

Hi @trudeehunter,

Thanks so much for partaking in #dailypetphotography! Please follow @dpet for upcoming events.
Our discord channel is up and running, come on over and say hi, lots of avil pet owners are awaiting you there.
https://discord.gg/GYrnsNm

My pleasure indeed @dpet I appreciate the effort it takes to organize such a popular contest as this. The variety of animals submitted is always entertaining.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Their fur looks like it would be so cozy to snuggle with. I don't think I'd want to own one though. I'd hate bathing a dog once a week. I'm a tiny woman so I'd be taking a bath every time with a large sized dog lol.

Absolutely @marxrab I thought that too. They'd be very handy to snuggle up to in the middle of winter but you'd have to be very dedicated in order to keep up with the grooming required. Thanks so much for dropping by. It's great to catch up again. 💐

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70638.80
ETH 3565.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73