Poor bunny

in #dailypetphotography6 years ago

5c995fd9-d30f-4743-bb77-ff7552809f0d.jpeg


My poor bunny... he’s got an abscess on his cheek. Infected tooth root. Apparently fairly common with lop eared bunnies.
We’ve taken him to the vet who drained his infection then we tried antibiotics and wiping him with gauze on the wound for a week but it’s come back 😭especially because he doesn’t like us doing it so it’s hard.
Treatment and maintenance is long term if you don’t deal with the root of the issue which needs surgery. Surgery is too expensive - $600AUD! With our finances it’s not an option. We may have to put him down sooner than we like 😢😢


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

That is terrible, our old dog meesha had an absence tooth like that also ended up growing outwards from the gums and was easily cut out but it wasn’t cheap either. I hope you can manage to get in under control with medications it may just take a longer duration, meesha was on antibiotics for almost 3 weeks before it was under control and the vet was content it wouldn’t cause a further infection while doing surgery.

You and your bunny will be in my thoughts today.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks It’s just painful seeing him like that and feeling helpless to do anything immediate that won’t make him hate me 😣
I’ll try to keep going for a few weeks and see how it goes.

Posted using Partiko iOS

It’s always hard to see our pets in a situation which hinders their quality of life, I know first hand how hard it can be to have to put a pet down. I would never be able to be a farmer or deal with livestock I am just to empathetic towards animals.

When we had to put our 3 legged Meesha down(she was 18) it was kind of relieving actually, just before falling asleep she was peaceful for the first time in a long time. I realized how much pain and discomfort she was living with, hard for animals to really express the severity of the situation in a way we can interpret. I knew in that moment it was the right choice because she had endured so much and never really complained but I still felt her relief from the pain, she was always the excitable happy dog even if she could no longer get around without help.

I will always miss her, she was an awesome companion went with me everywhere and I am certain she enjoyed her life.

You will know what needs to happen when the time comes, be strong is all I can really say.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Glad she had relief, but yes sad also.
It's interesting how much pain she was able to hide.. I read some animals(usually the prey) hide their sicknesses very well till it's too late.
hmm so you're saying my bunny could possibly just be happy on the outside but in pain

It is possible your bunny is in a decent amount of pain yes but animals also have the ability to shutdown the overwhelming sensations of pain unlike humans. As for whether the happiness is only on the outside I can only think of meesha as an example, she was a happy dog in general just loving any attention she did get so with your bunny I would think the same to be true unless you start seeing things like the bunny refusing to eat or becoming extremely lethargic which started to happen in meeshas final days as she lost the ability to move freely

Posted using Partiko iOS

Oh no, that's horrible!

Hi @vincy,

Thanks so much for partaking in #dailypetphotography! Please follow @dpet for upcoming events.
Our discord channel is up and running, come on over and say hi, lots of avil pet owners are awaiting you there.
https://discord.gg/GYrnsNm

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64555.14
ETH 3086.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85