🌸DEAR STEEM DIARY - LIFE LESSONS 🌸

steemdiary.jpg

Happy Hump Day, Steem Fam! Wow. It's been a week.


Dear Steem Diary,

Wow, the last two weeks have been crazy. A death, a funeral, travelling, hanging out with family, break ins at my shop, and now flu - it's been an eventful week.

I learnt a lot though, and this is the best part of this past few weeks. To be able to learn.

So, what did I learn?

I learnt am learning to turn off
I am one of those people who takes work home, not physically, but I check my emails, reply to emails, do social media for work, and lately, go to work when the alarm is going off (LOL!). Yeah - we've been having break in's at my shop, and of course, my number is the one they call when it goes off.

So, I have made a conscious decision to NOT do anything work related after working hours. Like, not even refresh my email. I already have cut down on regular social media use more than two years ago, so i guess this was my replacement. The constant buzzing of my phone was driving me literally insane; I was feeling frazzled and my brain felt saturated.

Since making this decision about a week ago, I am feeling better, a bit more relaxed, and not so super stressed. I check my emails when i get to work, and I don't spend the drive to work thinking about the emails and what I need to do when I get to work.

Family is the most important element in life
We lost a family member last week, and we travelled to the funeral, with lots and lots of other family members. I realised that no matter how weird we are, or what we say or believe, the one thing that binds us, is the fact that we are family. There's nothing they can do, they're stuck with me, haha 🤪

Life is short, and I am pretty sure we are not meant to spend it working so much that getting away to see family is only a once or twice yearly occasion.


Dear Steem Diary, all my emotions jumbled on this here page. I'll be back next Wednesday. Love you. Bye.

Queen of All Mew Mews.

Sort:  

Greetings, dear princessmewmew

Really. I agree that family is very important for our lives. I've lost several family members over the course of my life and I feel really bad about it. Some, I just stopped talking because I did not feel comfortable with them.

I plan on getting married, having my kids and dogs, and setting up my family. Pray for me, for I'm here cheering for you.

Thank you and good night!

ah, sorry to hear Julio. I have come to the realisation that family is very integral to mental health

Brave girl! Awesome decision. I love your style so much :-)

Thank you, Ravi! So nice to meet you in PYPT 💓 I have followed you and look forward to reading all your posts x

Nice to meet you too!
Heheheh :-) I followed you too, I like your content very much.
May I invite you at Barbarella at some point as an Author of the week? It would be lovely if you agree.

Sure! What will we talk about? 💓

I'll DM you on the details in a while :-)
Thanks for accepting it.

I think it benefits people to digitally detox now and then. Hope it will help you. You made the first big step yourself so that is a strong signal that you can and will relax from now on. Please keep us posted. I hope I might learn something from your journey towards a more relaxing life.

yes, it definitely helps. It's quite scary to realise how much we are depending on our digital lifestyle. `i will definitely do an update!

work life balance is so very important .. sometimes some quiet time from both is also important

hope things go better for you now

@shadowspub
The current Rambling Radio Schedule can be found here
It's All About Community!

absolutely, Shadows! thank you very much xx

We're alike in the take work home bit, I tell you it's so hard not do a quick check on your email especially now that you can do that with a phone. Lol

Posted using Partiko Android

LOL! you are so right, hey. just a quick check lol

I liked this post, @princess. Like you and many people today, I try not to take my work home and it's almost impossible. As a teacher, sometimes I have to correct in the evening or revise the material for the next class while I'm resting. The good thing is that I enjoy it; the bad thing is that my family sometimes fights with me because I don't dedicate much time to it. I always excuse myself by asking: what do you want, quality or quantity? I think I'll try to follow your advice. So much work and in the end die just like everyone else. That can be my goal from now on! I hug you

ah thank you @nancybriti 💜

I love my job too, very much, but it is a job, not life. It's really important to shut the mindoff and read a book or watch a film.

It is NEVER worth it, work will remain but health takes a toll. Log off work related items and relax with something positive.

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

I am learning how 😍

I am sorry for your loss, @princessmewmew. As difficult as it is to lose people in our lives, it does tend to remind us of what is truly valuable and meaningful. Your post is a good reminder of that too. I hope they catch those darn burglars!

thanks so much @jayna

you're very right here. it really does show what is important in life x

We're alike in the take work home bit, I tell you it's so hard not do a quick check on your email especially now that you can do that with a phone. Lol

Posted using Partiko Android

Life can certainly be overwhelming at times, and I hope things will be more smooth for you soon! 💛

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64418.55
ETH 3157.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06