When you die, what would you like to be engraved on your tombstone?

in #death5 years ago (edited)

2163DB1F-925D-4242-AC9E-37F85BA82CEF.jpeg
Source

View the original post on Musing.io

Thank you @nathen007 for your thought provoking question. I have actually never given this question much thought, but was compelled to do so once I stumbled upon it.

Traditionally, many loved ones will have the deceased’s name, date of birth, date of death and a short epitaph that the next of kin selects. However, some individuals will request that a certain saying, a poem or a scripture be engraved on their headstone.

Here are some examples that I have seen to commemorate a person:

• In Loving Memory

• Always In Our Hearts

• Gone But Never Forgotten

• Rest In Peace

Some individuals also put humorous saying on their headstones like, “I Told You I Was Sick.”

Many people of Christian faith will inscribe a scripture from the Bible. A favorite scripture that is engraved is:

“For to me, to live is Christ and to die is gain.” Philippians 1:21 (NIV)

Here are my thoughts. Since I have been known to be controlling at times and have already written my own obituary, prepared my will and left some minor instructions, I think on this action item, I would let my family decide. My family will grade my final report card and perhaps write an inscription that best represents how they remembered me.

One last note...my late father used to say all the time, even when he was sick unto death, “I am doing fine.” My family all agreed that this was the saying that we wanted to use that best described him because he was a positive person until the day he died.

Sort:  

Thanks for this post @pyemoney. I had not thought about this part for my homecoming. Looks like you are well prepared and taking the burden off your ones.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70112.96
ETH 3549.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71