Some simply won’t “play fair” (thoughts on intellectual dishonesty)

in #debate5 years ago (edited)


Sometimes you’ve got to call a pig, a pig.

Sometimes you’ve got to sing in front of them, to make them painfully aware of their “pig-ness” and the ridiculousness of their attempts, as pigs, to sing.

Sometimes it’s best to just walk away.

Not everyone is willing to be empathic.

Not everyone is willing to try and understand an opposing point of view.

Not everyone is willing to be shown they were mistaken.

Some are so stupid, that they cannot see they are not intelligent, and thus, fancy themselves the “bees knees” of intellectual pursuit and discourse.

Which kind of individual are you dealing with, in debate and discourse?

A human, or a pig?

~KafkA

!


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as DLive and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Support Voluntary Japan!


Patreon: https://www.patreon.com/voluntaryjapan

Steem/SBD: @voluntaryjapan

BCH: qqvmdr3l0dlmjqdekkzgsdeg8hq2s9zt5ud3h004r7

BTC: 1MfENEp9tkJMHmrrj5rPKzohYNCw9S6qFw

ETH: 0x9199c3844fd8d3642b39175414c8ffcd403c7aaf

DSH: XpqAkZqHnE12pN9oKapd1Vmj91HSeb93K1

QTUM: 0x9199c3844fd8d3642b39175414c8ffcd403c7aaf

Sort:  

i see very few humans in general now..:(
most of them are in steemit, though it sounds strange. in real life I meet Humans really seldom

Focused misanthropy is rational.

Woodchuck Pirate
aka Raymond J Raupers Jr USA
woodchuckpirate.com

I just read (half of) the resteemed post by cranium whathisname. Oh gosh. I had to click away. Triggered. lol Totally though. It reminded me of the time I confronted my abuser and he explains, point by point, all the reasons why he was NOT abusing me. And this from a secondary psychopath with narcissistic personality disorder.

I acknowledge I was triggered and I commented but not in reaction, more in an explanation of what a "sane" person would actually do, which is panic, be afraid and try to connect dots and figure out what's going on. I mean, if you have it all wrong, then tant mieux, you'll rest easy when light has been shed on it. But I watched that video by Larken Rose. This is serious stuff. The evidence is there. If we are all connecting the wrong dots, it would be good to know. But right now, all we have are these dots that point suspiciously to that conclusion.

Anyway, you've got your peeps in your corner. I guess so do the other guys.

Thank you 💚

Yes, it’s maddening.

These new trolls are so stupid though, that all they are doing is exposing themselves, so, maybe it’s a good thing.

They are wasters, takers. Very much like politicians.

Woodchuck Pirate
aka Raymond J Raupers Jr USA
woodchuckpirate.com

Perhaps. We'll see. The best we can do is try to rise above it and not let them control us by making us angry.

Actually emotions are byproducts of thought processes, not vice versa. That's an important recognition to embed in your memory because it means you own your emotions 100%. It follows that you are 100% in control of your emotions as you can examine your thoughts and must qualify them as valid or invalid, and then your emotions will be rational, benchmarked to truth.

It also follows why so-called "sunshinebear" chimed in to falsely claim ownership of someone else's emotions and offer fraudulent apology as an arrogant egotistical victory of minute proportion while posturing as enemy of hate and liberator of truth.
What does this observation of fraud have in common with Antifa? Ego often if not always calls itself the opposite of truth.

It doesn't require much critical thinking to realize ego-misidentification has nothing to do with reality. It is the core reason for all mankind's suffering. Ego will tell any lie to get what it needs to war against true self. But ego is just a story, and stories aren't real. However unconscious behavior has terrible consequences in the real world. The enemy is ego. Treat it as such.

All credit due to Eckhart Tolle.

Woodchuck Pirate
aka Raymond J Raupers Jr USA
woodchuckpirate.com

I have a tendency to judge some of my thoughts as either good or bad, and I know that ego gets in the way when that happens. If I just observe, the thoughts that scare me pass and then they're gone and I continue doing what I'm doing with no need to dwell on the fears created by such thoughts. Trauma has a way of turning thoughts against you.

I've recently started changing how I express certain things. I have a tendency to say "it makes me feel" and that removes all my power. My goal is to regain my power to reclaim my emotions. I've removed most of the brainwash I once had, from an abuser who tried to control me. Although he could never completely.

Reclaiming ownership can be a challenge when we learn to externalise at a young age with everything around us and everyone else externalising too. Regaining that power can be tricky but...empowering ;)

Thanks for the wise words :)

In your reference to trauma and pattern(s) manifest in thoughts/emotions, you may be describing what Eckhart Tolle refers to as the "pain-body". Some people actually begin to think their pain is who they are and defend it as identity. Some cling to their pain-body as a type of familiar comfort zone. In my understanding the pain-body is a knee-jerk set of response/behaviors that reinforces suffering, unless cognitive action is implemented to end the suffering.

Releasing oneself from suffering initiated in the past can actually be an ongoing life-long process for those of us who have had severe long-term trauma especially if it is traced back to childhood. I was literally born under punches, index fingers broken as an infant, other injuries to follow, and endured what I call a stolen childhood. I finally successfully left home at age 17 (1976) when the cops could no longer legally drag me back to the hands of psychopathic parents.

Never a day passes that my mind doesn't revisit those years in hell. However I am not my thoughts and I choose not to suffer over them. The story changes but true self remains unchanged. I'm inclined to kill my ego whenever I recognize it. Nothing I've endured has ever made me weaker.

Ego is always dysfunctional, however it is a bio-mechanism of the mind and always resurrects itself to be killed again. Unfortunately many if not most people devolve to believing they are the story about who they are that they carry around in their head and maintain a relationship with. Challenge that story and only the degree of ego-misidentification determines what level of fear and hostility will be released against the truth-teller. Focused misanthropy is rational.

All credit due Eckhart Tolle.

Enjoy your evening,

Woodchuck Pirate
aka Raymond J Raupers Jr USA
woodchuckpirate.com

Thank you for sharing that with me.

Pain-body sounds quite accurate.

Rest assured more dots are on the way. Kafka is fooling you. Sorry if it's upsetting. Just trying to stop the hate and get the truth out.

I can understand wanting to get the truth out.

We find ourselves on opposite sides of the story, backing up our people, but we also recognise that truth is the most important factor. If it is proven that I was duped and this buddy of mine is not who I thought he was, then I rather know it than not. For now, I will stick to believing him.

Whatever the truth is, hopefully it will come to light.

As always, true self arises as ego dies.

I am no"thing". I simply "am".

Challenging someone else's ego does not facilitate enlightenment, it only manifests knee-jerk reactions of fear and hostility.

Enlightenment can not be withheld or given away, it can only be accepted from within.

Interactions between humans are characterized by conscious, semi-conscious and unconscious behavior dependent upon the degree of true self (consciousness) present in the moment. There is never dialogue between ego and true self because true self arises as ego dies.

Robert Fripp said, "Tuning a Mellotron doesn't."

Woodchuck Pirate says, "Talking to ego isn't."

Ego is just a story, it isn't real. Sooner or later conscious people realize ego doesn't listen because ego can't listen, only true self listens because only true self is real. Mankind is largely unconscious and the answer is only found within not without. Such is the nature of freewill.

Woodchuck Pirate
aka Raymond J Raupers Jr USA
woodchuckpirate.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16