Evicted - 7 Days to go! - How to deal with an untimely visit from the debt collectors.

in #debt6 years ago (edited)

Today I recorded a phone call between myself and the debt-collector who visited my home this afternoon.

face-1618921__340.jpg
Pic sourced from pixabay

Before I endorse this approach I have to make a few things clear.

  • First off, I live on the 2nd floor of 3 floor apartment building and access to my property is not possible through the ground floor.
  • There are 2 doors to go through, in order to enter my home, the first is communal.
  • My neighbour above knows not to let strangers through the first door.
  • All of my windows are 20-feet above the ground and they all have security latches, so leaving them ajar is no risk
    (I would always advise closing windows when you are out of the house).
  • I am moving house in 7-days and although the letter states they will be back in the not-to-distant future, I suspect it will be after I leave(I am aware that this may antagonise the goon and make him want to beat his chest, so writing to them is usually the best tactic).

3rd-party debt companies, like 'Robinson Way', usually sell the debt back to the council after 12-months, if they fail to collect on the debt. Once returned to the council all charges are removed and even without an insolvency order, it will normally result in an "attachment of earnings" being applied. This amounts to just under £4 per week and you only pay back the original debt. I am drawing a line under all of my debts and starting again, from scratch. This will have an adverse effect on my credit-rating, but I'm sure it can't be any worse than it is already. I have never wanted to be tied to a property and with the housing market currently on steroids, I think I will stick with this tactic. I've no desire to obtain a mortgage and pay thousands of pounds to a bank that plucked the money out of thin-air, I'd rather wait for STEEM to moon, or start stuffing the mattress with £50-notes.

For now I have to deal with my debts in other ways. After finding out that any form of protest will end in an unlawful arrest and state-kidnap, I have chosen to stop using common law notices and withholding taxes under article 61 of Magna Carta. I will still protest this taxation without representation as my constitution dictates that I should. However, it does appear that, for now, we are forced into lining the pockets of the least deserving, who hide their fortunes and contribute nothing back to society while bleeding us all dry.
With all this in mind I have chosen to reach for the emergency brake and apply for an 'insolvency order'. I have already begun to document this process and today was my 2nd meeting with a lady named Claire. This meeting was to list all my creditors and go set up my application. I was supposed to receive my credit reports from companies who hold these kind of records('Experian' being just one), but unfortunately they have not yet arrived and this has held up the process. It is imperative for me to add every single creditor to this list and not risk leaving anything to chance. So now I have been sent away to wait for these reports and then I am booked in to return at the beginning of next month. This may seem a while to have to wait, but it also allows me to establish a corrected cost of living assessment once I move back to my parents.

Truth be told, this was a little disappointing to hear and as much as I understand I just want to get this thing started. This feeling then became all the more prominent once I returned home and opened a hand delivered letter with hand-writing I recognised straight away...

(Apologies for the sideways image)
DSC_0726.jpg

What great timing! This letter would usually have scared the be'Jesus out of me and had me in a cold sweat for a week, as it is intended to do. However, with me taking my situation by the throat I am now in complete control and this has led me to have a little fun with my would-be-predators. Below is a recording of my phone-call to Mr Chamberlain, a debt collector for Robinson Way. I hope you can all gain some confidence from hearing this conversation and you will soon find out how toothless these goons really are. I had lots of fun leading this guy down the garden-path and finally revealing my ace in-hand.

So sit back and enjoy the show.

call-center-3508166__340.png
https://soundcloud.com/user389617598/debt-goon-1

Just to clarify a point that Mr Chamberlain was desperate to avoid is the "legal entry" loop-hole. During the phone-call he kept saying that he did not need my consent to enter my home, but admitted he could not force entry. As I was having so much fun, turning the table on this leech, I forgot to ask him about climbing through open windows... This is their golden egg and they love nothing better than a window to slither through, or an unwitting relative allowing them access. If they can find a peaceful way in to your house they will and they also like to use the police to keep you busy while they try to enter your home.

If they ever call the police you will have to wait the situation out, either inside, or outside of your property. The moment you open the door they will try to place their foot in the way and obstruct you from closing it without you making physical contact with the goon. This is just what they want you to do and it is something you must keep fresh in your mind.
The police do not attend civil disputes and this is a civil dispute. As long as you remain peaceful and calm the police have no reason to attend. Recording the interaction will allow you to prove your peaceful conduct if they do happen to lie to the police and claim you are being aggressive. If the goons foot is in the door and you push him away, then they will have the police on their side, 100%.

In the highly unlikely event, that things happen to go this far and the police are called while you are in your home, the likelihood is that the goons will have lied to the police to get them to attend. This is why I think it is best to be outside of your property in this situation. If you are inside when the police arrive the goons will follow the officers into your home, as you will no doubt be threatened with arrest on suspicion of whatever the goons have told them you've done. This may sound corny but I have seen it happen so many times on TV and once inside all charges are suddenly dropped, then police leave you and the goons alone, in your living room.

long banner2.jpg

Don't put yourself in this situation and be prepared. Get to know your local police-officers and ask them about what they would do in a situation like this. I have done this myself and I was told specifically that they would only be in attendance to keep the peace. The police constable then instructed me, like many advisers seem to do, to simply ignore any unwelcome visitors and wait for them to leave. As you have heard in the recording from the debt collector himself; they have no right to force entry into your home.

If you are in this situation, I would advise you to waste the goons time by answering your 'lawful notices'. Collection agencies are lawfully obliged to answer any protests you have and Lawful rebellion has 5 separate noticesthat keep these freaks very busy indeed. It may even enlighten some of them and lead them onto a more honourable career. Especially, once they realise they are committing common-law crimes carrying heavy penalties. In the end though, the debt will get passed back to the council. Often they will just send you a receipt for the original debt and if you still don't pay they will sell it on to another debt-company. In the end, you will be threatened with prison if you carry on repeating this process. This is done through the common-law crime of 'contempt of court' and not for the non-payment of council tax, as many would have you believe. If you haven't paid because you simply can't afford to, then I suggest you do as I have done and apply for an insolvency order. This can be done at your local Citizens advice Bureau.

If you are in debt and it is ruining your life, please don't let them grind you down and make you live in fear. I may not be able to avoid paying the government to continue the slaughter of millions, but I will find other ways to protest and every penny will be given under insufferable duress. Until that day of judgement comes and we finally put these crooks and paedophiles to the proverbial sword(Or maybe even a real one), until then, we will have to keep on denouncing these deceptions and continue to assist those who know no better.

I will leave you all with a reminder that you only have until Sunday evening to enter the Monster raffle I'm holding to raise funds for @familyprotection.

Please check out the link to see how to enter

DSC_0717.jpg

PTYAY

Rebel-Dan aka @article61

Sort:  

So then buddy, it has been over a week now, have you moved? has everything gone smoothly?
This morning I received a debt letter from rossingdales telling me that I had been ignoring letters from our old council for our rent of £200.
I got on the blower and the first thing they say to you after you have told them who you are is ask what methord are you going to pay. ( I am doing a post about this tonight so you can read all about it there)
I have then called the council and after a lot of phoning around it looks like I will not be paying the £200 as it is not my fault.
The reason why I am telling you this is because I even got the debt collector so mad with what I said to him that he told me to "f*ck off" and then hung up on me.
I wish that I had recorded the phone call as that would have been a great addition to the post.

Anyway I hope all is well and until next time

Steem to the moon :D

Mate, that has made me laugh, not often you get them swearing, great work!
I'm glad you have the issue resolved and I'll take a look at your post to find out more details. Always record the calls bro, I'm reducing my vote by 1% to make my point too ;)

I've wrote a post about today's eviction. (Plug plug)

Curated for #informationwar (by @commonlaw)

  • Our purpose is to encourage posts discussing Information War, Propaganda, Disinformation and other false narratives. We currently have over 8,000 Steem Power and 20+ people following the curation trail to support our mission.

  • Join our discord and chat with 200+ fellow Informationwar Activists.

  • Join our brand new reddit! and start sharing your Steemit posts directly to The_IW!

  • Connect with fellow Informationwar writers in our Roll Call! InformationWar - Contributing Writers/Supporters: Roll Call Pt 11

Ways you can help the @informationwar

  • Upvote this comment.
  • Delegate Steem Power. 25 SP 50 SP 100 SP
  • Join the curation trail here.
  • Tutorials on all ways to support us and useful resources here

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61482.47
ETH 2990.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67