Mindfulness Monday Thoughts for a Thursday

in #depression6 years ago

56ihmho9mg.jpg

Every now and then you read something, hear a song, or see a video that strikes a nerve or hits home. So much so that you wonder if someone is reading your mind. It's not actually that their reading your mind, it is because they understand. They have had they same thoughts and same feelings at some point in their life. Each person finds their own way of expressing them.

This is one of those videos that does that. It is from Steven Bartlett. He does episodic videos on Facebook. I know FB is a dirty word around here and lot of people here do not have a FB anymore. If you get a chance to view this please do. It describes so much and puts another view on what my Mindfulness Mondays are about. Please give this a view.

Remember: Be Kind to Yourself

Smiling Through Depression

International Suicide Hotline Numbers

7jefli3nyb.png



Pay It Forward Contests


IMG-20180606-WA0005.jpg
Steemitcentral


Asapers.gif
ASAP'ers


Picture_20180513_211411075.jpg
Dustsweeper



manna banner.jpg
Earn passive Universal Basic Income


banner

CREATE YOUR OWN @REVIEWME PROFILE TO START EARNING CREDIBILITY STARS FROM THE COMMUNITY!
CREATING YOUR PROFILE IS EASY! JUST FOLLOW THE STEPS HERE ☜(ˆ▿ˆc)


Thank you for your continued support, Love

tryskele (1).gif

Sort:  

I respect and appreciate anyone who has time and attention to help and think about other emotional need and prevent others from depression to suicides. I have a friend who lives with depression all the time, but his family kept him away from his friends because they thought its hummiliating😯 and there's nothing I and other friends could do at that time.

Thanks for sharing and will watch the video when I have time to relax and enjoy the information thoroughly.

That's sad they keep him away from people. Usually, those with depression do a very good job of isolating themselves, they don't need help doing that. As hard as it is, isolation is the worst thing to do, even though it is so hard to get up and go out.
💜💜 @cicisaja

He was a good friend of mine, we run the student organization and he's quite a good singer too. I don't really know what happened to him after I left university and then tsunami took all my time and energy to work and work. In 2009, my sister told me that she met him at the flight to West Java, they got scholarship but within a week she reported that my friend had picked up by his family back home because he tried to hurt the landlord's daughter.

Since then, we never had a chance to meet him anymore.. aahh it's almost ten years and I wonder how is he doing now. I really hope that he can cope with his depression. I think I shall check him out through a friend who still live innBanda Aceh.

I agree with you, we need to support someone to get out from his depression but isn't depends on himself?

Awww 😔 I hope he's fine. That really stinks. Ultimately yes it depends on him, just always start with baby steps. When mine was at it's worse, to get out of bed for more than 20 mins was a struggle :( I made my first goal, just to walk the 50ft (15.24 m) to the mailbox.

One of my friends would pick me up and take me over to her house just to get out. Slowly things started going forward again.

One of my friends would pick me up and take me over to her house just to get out. Slowly things started going forward again.

So glad that you made it now @tryskele, was it because of your health?

Unfortunately no. I wish it were my health. My first problems I started to have the doctors said it was postpartum depression. It wasn't, it was when my brain started to show signs of other issues.
1st - I had daddy issues which didn't develop until my 30's after he tried to kill me and then I started reliving moments where he had tried prior that I never realized, since I was so young. Plus a few other things with him.
2nd - was my first marriage loads of things there.
3rd - was my ex-kidnapping my kids.

I have bad days, I just don't beat myself up over them anymore. I accept it and just do things to keep my brain active on positive things. Most of the time it lasts maybe a day. Once in a while a little longer. It's just life :)

You are incredibly strong @tryskele 🙇 I respect you more for keep moving on and share with us here on steemit now. People should learnt how to cope with the same situation from you.

I couldn't imagine how hard is for you at that time but so grateful that you managed and I don't think I can bear even half of it. Even the rape attempted when I was 8 years old nothing to compare with any of your life experience. Thank you so much ... I have nothing to complaint in my life after reading your story.

Congratulations @tryskele! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I've got this video cued up and will have a look at it this evening. My son just went through another bout of depression; doctors changed his meds, but man, it's tough as a parent when you can't just "fix" it for him. It's a terrible cross to bear having anxiety, depression etc., and I really look forward to the day when there's not "shame" attached to it as well.

It is hard. Even with everything that I have been through, when my son goes through his bouts, it's hard. His stubbornness comes out and doesn't want to listen, because it's mom telling him he should. I've never been one of those demanding parents telling my children what they have to do in general. I have been urging my son to find a therapist to at least talk to.
I think that many don't want to remove the shame or the stigma, thinking it will increase suicide or something. I think it will lessen it. I think since so many see it as 'fake', don't understand, and so forth it puts those of us that deal with it feeling even worse. My favorite is "Can't you just get over it?" LOL 'Don't you think I would if I could?'
I hope he finds something that works for him.

He does have a good therapist and now goes when he feels the need; which is a good thing. He's sure gone through a lot to get to this point though ... and during his darkest of times, I too heard, "he's just doing it for attention". Yeah. That's what it is.

My favorite is "Can't you just get over it?" LOL 'Don't you think I would if I could?'

No kidding. It's a bit like the whole argument, 'he's just choosing to be gay'.

Good at least he knows when he needs to get in. Sometimes, I want to walk around with a roll of duct tape (gaffers tape) and tape people's mouths shut. If they took a few minutes to put themselves in the other person's shoes, they may think differently.

Hi @tryskele!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.669 which ranks you at #13706 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 3 places in the last three days (old rank 13703).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 499 contributions, your post is ranked at #248.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64799.61
ETH 3102.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83