Desert Island Disc Music Challenge: Choose FIVE albums for your ONE year Stay

I was nominated by @slobberchops for this post. As I have said in the past, I don't usually participate in challenges on Steemit becuase I don't like being boxed in about what I have to write about.

When it comes to music though, I tend to make the exception. I can usually find a way to work music into anything I do, or anything I write about if I have to.

As a matter of fact, I have started my own music related contest you can check out here: Share your favorite lyric contest.

Here are the rules for this challenge:

  • Name FIVE albums you would take if you were stranded on a desert island for ONE year with just a CD player, USB devices capable of playing tunes or a good old fashioned record player.
  • For each of the albums, link a tune from YouTube or an alternate source which to you is the standout song.
  • Provide a short story on why you like this album or the artist so much.
  • Use the tag #desertislandchallenge on your post
  • Nominate THREE more people for the challenge, try and pick music people!


So I am stuck on this deserted island and these are the five CD's that I have with me:

For the sake of this article I am going to try to stay away from movie soundtracks that are on double albums. The Wedding Singer and Forrest Gump are to sound tracks that would definitely be with me if I was taking double albums.

U2 - The Joshua Tree



I would need to have some U2 no matter what, and it was a hard choice between this album and Achtung Baby. Joshua Tree just has too many classic songs for me to leave it at home though.

Although not a mainstream hit, Running to Stand Still is one of my favorite songs from the album. Especially the last verse/bridge section. It is such a haunting song that deals with the serious issue of heroin addiction.

Van Morrison - Moondance



My song selection on this one is a little predictable as this was probably the biggest hit from the Moondance record. While I enjoy the whole album, this song was my pick to highlight because I feel it is lyrically just a little better than the others.

I own a copy of Moondance on CD and Vinyl, it has so many great songs like Crazylove, Moondance, and Caravan. It is just a work of art.

Counting Crows - August and Everything After



Although the album boasts a number of hits and launched the mainstream career of this amazing band, my favorite song is one of the lesser known ones on the album. Anna Begins tells such a great story of a relationship starting and ending. The chorus is probably my favorite part of the song even though it takes a while to build up to it.

Midland - On the Rocks



I like all genres of music, so I had to include some country in this list. While I was torn about throwing in something a little more classic like Waylon or Willie, I have been really impressed by Midland. They are a new band, but have a sound that is fantastically old school. Check out the song above and you will see what I mean.

Dianna Ross and the Supremes - The Definitive Collection



I got all the way to number five and realized that my list was pretty testosterone heavy. There is something classic about Diana Ross and the Supremes. This song is classic and probably one my favorites on the album. I also have this on vinyl and it gets a lot of play time.

This was truly very hard. I hope you enjoy my picks. I feel like am committing a personal cardinal sin by not throwing some Beatles or Neil Diamond in the mix. Billy Joel and Elton John rightly deserve a spot too, but I can listen to those after my year is up. It just gives me something to look forward to!

I nominate @daan, @tattoodjay, and @watersnake101

Many of my posts have been featured in The STEEMEngine and Steemrepair, check them out:

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

image source

Sort:  

My pick from yours is Diana Ross and the Supremes. What harmonies they had, I love the motown stuff.

Yeah, it is some really good stuff. There are so many others I would have included, but limiting it to five is pretty smart. If they had a full album out yet, I would have been throwing some Greta Van Fleet in there too.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 9 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 41 SBD worth and should receive 121 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Your post received an upvote by the @illuminati-Inc music curation team and its partner @curie.

You may consider voting for the Curie witness; all witness payouts are used to fund Curie operations including but not limited to more than 10 curation teams (vote here).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88