Invested 200 Steem, got back 750 half a year later.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #design5 years ago

coins-stacked-in-crooked-pile_4460x4460.jpg

About half a year ago my company was holding a logo design contest to revamp the company image, although I'm no graphic designer and possessing zero PS skills at all, I was interested immediately knowing that I could make use of the wonderful Utopian graphic designers force.

Hence I quickly drafted a brief requirement document about the logo design, approaching personally to whoever contributed to the Utopian graphic design categories(after filtering by confirming their works show a certain level of skill of course) if they are interested in making my logos for the contest. The best part by doing so instead of going to a talent-hiring site like Fiverr is, I can straight up pay them in STEEM instead of fiat.

In the end, I collected about 9 designs from different designers and paid approximately sum of ** 200 STEEM**. Back in August 2018, STEEM was worth $1 so I can say that was an investment of $200 in the hope of winning the S$2000 grand prize.

I did not win the contest

Half a year later, the result was announced and I wasn't in luck despite the 9 submissions. To make things better, the HR decided to award a fixed amount of fiat prize to the overwhelming participants, in term of cash vouchers. And I decided to sell those vouchers away and buyback STEEM. Sold the S$280 worth of vouchers for S$263 a few days later, a 6% discount was given because that was the quickest way to get rid of it.

photo6181378904942553217.jpg

Deposited the cash to local exchange and bought 0.0536 BTC and eventually converted it to 749 STEEM.

firefox_2019-01-12_14-08-14.png

firefox_2019-01-12_14-21-30.png


Verdict

In short, I turned 200 STEEM to 749 STEEM within half a year. Although you might say if I sold that 200 STEEM, hold the fiat and buyback today I would have gotten the same result. But the fact is if it weren't for the logo contest I would not spend or cash out the STEEM anyway. Furthermore, a couple of designers has been paid and get their work recognized in the process while this shows me another use case of STEEM is possible and fun.

Stay cool and stay Steeming!


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://fr3eze.vornix.blog/invested-200-steem-got-back-750-half-a-year-later/

Sort:  

Nice but strange investment..

Posted using Partiko Android

Ya strange, I was aiming for the big cash prize but it ended up better in the case I didn't win.

haha not bad wo, can profit somemore

Hello @fr3eze, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99