Just give me 1 more!

in #determine5 years ago

I heard this story recently about an ancient battle that took place.

I forgot some of the details, but I'll paraphrase the message as best as I can:

The story is of a king who was leading is army.

They were off to defend their homeland and they were facing an incredible force.

A force that was so large and so powerful that it seemed this was the doom of the king and his kingdom. There was no way for him to successfully defeat this army.

Before battle, he told his men that they would certainly win this fight if they just did 1 thing.

All they had to do to win this unwinnable battle was give the king 1 more step forward, no matter how compromising or how taxing on their bodies... Just 1 step forward at the sound of the horns.

The battle was waged and the men from both sides were locked up in shield to shield combat.

The horns were sounded and thus, the men realized they must push 1 more step forward to win. If they did this, their king promised them that they would win.

The men pushed just 1 more step and managed to break through the enemy shields and defeat the army that lay in front of them.

The moral of this story is that sometimes all it takes is just 1 more try.

When I'm in the gym and lifting weights, I love to remind myself of this.

Just lift 1 more rep I'll tell myself... And if that rep is easy, I just say it again. And again and again and again and again... I'll say it until it feels as though I can no longer move...

I'm that kind of person when it comes to training... I like to bring myself to the absolute brink of complete exhaustion. That's why I feel that I've had such significant results and so much gratification from lifting!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61243.73
ETH 2974.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69