On Becoming an Alpha

in #determine5 years ago (edited)

Be the alpha of your own life...

Everyone’s looking at it as being relative... they want to be the alpha relative to others.

A great idea from stoic philosophy is to do your best rather than to be the best.

When you approach many different aspects of life with the attitude that you want to constantly improve and constantly strive to do your best rather than beat everyone else and be better than others, you unlock a powerful skill.

This skill will not only make you happier, it may also make you a harder worker.

I’ve been struggling to implement this into my own life, but over time I’ve found it’s easier and easier with practice and patience.

You need to practice this skill... a lot.

My recommendation is to make a post-it note or a screensaver on your iPhone that reminds you:

Do your best.

Over time you’ll develop an ability to catch yourself in the act of comparing yourself to others.

I catch myself constantly now. Several times a day... dozens of times a day.

I’ll see someone at the gym, for example, who is bigger, stronger and faster than me.

My first thought is: “damn, how is he so much better and farther along than me? Girls must be way more into that guy than lousy old me.”

But I quickly remind myself of this philosophy. I quickly catch myself and remind myself that I am at the gym to perform my best and to build myself into the best version I can possibly be.

That’s the only variable that matters. Those negative comparison thoughts then seem to dissipate.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09