The difference between warriors and society

in #determine5 years ago

Warrior cultures have always fascinated me.

People like the Spartans and Alexander the Great and other ancient cultures are even more fascinating to me!

When you move the timeline forward, you can see that Warrior cultures still exist in small pockets today.

They are not nearly what they used to be. Today, they are much more concentrated and have a distant separation from civilian life.

My friend sent me these quotes today from a book he's reading called "The Warrior Ethos", I loved them so much, so I decided to borrow them for this post:

"The values of warrior culture are not necessarily shared by the society at large. In fact, many of their values are opposites."
"A warrior culture trains for adversity. Luxury and ease are the goals advertised to the civilian world."

A warrior culture is so different than the civilian counterpart.

In many ways, they are polar opposites from each other.

Warrior cultures value adversity and challenge while the main goals and aspirations of civilian culture is to cut out adversity and seek comfort.

This is something that I've been struggling with in my own life. I've been trying to move more and more away from comfort and more and more towards adversity and challenge.

I can feel a deep craving for adversity.. I never fully realized that it was there until I thought about many of these Warrior culture values.

I feel as though I'm the kind of person who would have excelled in a warrior culture, but I've been raised in a culture of the civilian lifestyle.

I was raised to praise comfort and seek it at all costs, but I feel like I should've been raised the opposite way.

It's never too late though. You can always change your mindset and change your lifestyle to reflect what you feel to be right. Thus, I've begun to embrace more challenges on a daily basis and I will hopefully continue to add these challenges as the days go on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28