Random Thoughts and Diabetes, with Extra Words....

in #diabetes5 years ago

This happened quite a few years ago, when Eric had his heart attack. At the same time as telling him that he was having a heart attack, doctors told him that he was diabetic. At the end of that month, both of us at home and safe, I was getting sicker and sicker with what I'd marked as the flu.


Wow, was I wrong. Eric told me to check my blood sugar on his new machine, and off we went to emergency. Quick learning curve, and I was sent on my way with my brand new "So You're a Diabetic" book, only read over by a few hundred other patients. I was thrilled, overjoyed, and still sick.....


Wonder of wonders, I got into the habit of checking my blood, doing my insulin injections, because Metformin never worked for me....I worked it down to crude science, and pared away at some of the issues. Eventually, I lowered my insulin, and lowered my blood sugar, until it was nearly a thing of the past.....


(which will come back to haunt me, in a few lines...but you knew that, right?)


And sailing along quite smoothly, the flu symptoms just felt like flu, I fell into bad habits with comfort food, made it worse when I dug for my glucose meter and discovered once again, years later, that I didn't have the flu....


So we're up to current now. I've got diabetes, no question, symptoms are back, numbers are too high (way way way), and I've dusted off my insulin, and made a couple new pinholes in my fat belly...


So, what's next? More of the same, work it down off the new highs. More practice, some new experiments, out comes (once again) my sarcastic side, and I'm looking like I'm poking at a demon with this sense of humor....


It'll be okay....


So why did I write all this? As a lesson to all of you, as a hard lesson for myself, and hopefully to make a few of you laugh. But there had to be a trigger, right? I wanted....


.....


a cookie.


Pardon me, I need to go cry now.

Sort:  

Well my wife is a recovered diabetic... we have changed her intake habits and have her trimmed down. You can have a cookie once in a while but, do you really want that cookie! :) The key is to watch your intake.. believe me we know... LOL Wishing you great success... tell Eric not to buy the cookies so your are not tempted! :)

No more cookies till your numbers come down

Posted using Partiko iOS

You got a 13.32% upvote from @booster courtesy of @ericburgoyne!

NEW FEATURE:

You can earn a passive income from our service by delegating your stake in SteemPower to @booster. We'll be sharing 100% Liquid tokens automatically between all our delegators every time a wallet has accumulated 1K STEEM or SBD.
Quick Delegation: 1000| 2500 | 5000 | 10000 | 20000 | 50000

You got a 10.41% upvote from @joeparys! Thank you for your support of our services. To continue your support, please follow and delegate Steem power to @joeparys for daily steem and steem dollar payouts!

Congratulations @saalbertchandler! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 50 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Be ready for the next contest!
Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge
SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @saalbertchandler! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 10 comments. Your next target is to reach 50 comments.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Be ready for the next contest!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

It's a psychological war I feel you :/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64498.18
ETH 3079.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86