On ‘prepping’ for potentially involuntary nomadism (part 1: first thoughts)

in #digitalnomad6 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: On ‘prepping’ for potentially involuntary nomadism (part 1: first thoughts)


I've moved to Hive, along with most other people, following Justin Sun's takeover of Steem in the Spring of 2020. I believe hive is a lot more decentralised than Steem!

Sort:  

Another option could be to do a volunteering spell at the Centre for Alternative Technology in north Wales (cat.org.uk).

You would get food and accommodation, and internet connection. And you would be learning new skills and making great contacts for the homesteading plan...


Host of The Alternative Lifestyle Show on MSP Waves Radio.

Editor of the Weekly Schedule of Steem Radio Shows.

Founder of the A Dollar A Day charitable giving project.


Cheers! Voluntary work is on the list of potentials. Although TBH I'd rather pay 'peppercorn rent' and not have to work, so I've got more time to blog!

I actually did a week's volunteering for CAT in 1998. Bet things have changed!

I wonder how many work v free hours you get there?

It is a fascinating place. I've been going there since it opened in mid 90's, and often now go on courses there.

Back in the day it was quite long hours, as in more than 6/ day (I tend to think 4 is reasonable). I also remember them moaning about us drinking too much tea given the cost of organic tea bags. You can imagine the derision that was met with by the volunteers.

As a bit of a left-winger I've got a bit of a problem with what I call 'eco-peasantry' (if you're a land owner, you can get people to work for free)... I seem to remember the feudal period coming to an end everywhere else sometime around the 16th century - but it seems to be going strong in eco-circles!

I understand CAT's 'come on' a long way since the 1990s, a lot more established and international.

Yes CAT has changed a lot in the past few years. Whether for the better or for the worst I wouldn't make comment here...

A lot of people in the US are doing the vehicle conversion and living nomadic lives that way. I've seen it done with vans, mini buses, and even have seen photos of a full size converted school bus. There is also a big movement to build "tiny homes" that are somewhat mobile in the sense that they can be moved relatively easily if need be. A small pop-up camper that is small enough to tow with a car is an option as well.

All good ideas thanks! The most practical for me is probably to do a small-ish one van conversion, although I do love 'tiny houses'!

You're welcome! I love the idea of a nomadic lifestyle and traveling to new places. I also love the idea of owning some land and homesteading in a sense. Both have their appeal and disadvantages.

Tiny houses are awesome too. But I do think they'll be a bit more demanding when it comes to startup costs...

Well, I hope the deal on your house settles soon. If the involuntary nomadic path cannot be avoided, I'd definitely go with the yurt version! It's something I've considered for myself too! Even comfortable through winter if required. Just don't plan to put it up somewhere in Netherlands, too many rules here and too little space. But I'm sure it would work fine in most other European countries!

I like the idea of a yurt, I'm guessing that it'd probably fit on top of a car when collapsed. Otherwise I could do a van conversion. I was thinking southern Europe if necessary for winter.

Smallish plot on the welsh border sounds ideal. Go for that if at all possible. Wastes a lot of time moving from place to place, plus it's disruptive to a sense of peace. But if you must go nomad, the car. No investment, no commitment, flexible if you find a congenial place along the way-- you can always settle down there for a little while. You never know what pops up when you're on the road. I admire your pluck. I think, with your open attitude, you will find a good path.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64555.14
ETH 3086.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85