Vintage of the Day - 2 Weeks Until My Final Market

in #discussion5 years ago

I find myself pretending it's not the last show. A filthy dirty parking garage in the Uptown neighborhood of Chicago. People said, "You can't have a show Uptown, that's a big mess, methadone clinics, mentally ill..." On and on.

If you don't know, my show, Vintage Garage Chicago is a monthly market in the city and I put it on in an actual parking garage, the 3rd Sunday of the month. 75 vendors bring ALL kinds of vintage.

I knew it was the right place. Coming from Detroit, I didn't have the preconceived notions that those who've lived in Chicago their whole lives had. Uptown has not had a good reputation.

I saw an area of the city that is extremely close to the Lake and isn't crazy expensive. Lakeview and Lincoln Park neighborhoods for example, forget it. You can't afford it OR a parking space to go with it.

You can buy a place in Uptown, Edgewater and Rogers Park for much much less. The area is real. It's real people working to make this area better and the changes since we've been there have been huge.

Garage is close to the Red Line and that's Chicago's busiest L Train. It runs north/south through the entire city. So many of our customers take the Red Line. Being close to that was more important than I could have imagined.

Whatever is next? We'll stay on the north side. It's our home and it's where our friends and customers are. There will be 4 shows at our awesome church location, St. Andrews. A vintage holiday market, 2 clothing and jewelry shows, and one date I haven't decided the theme.

Wish me luck, getting closer and closer to the end, it's scary. 8 shows this year, 4 shows next year. I want to explore other passions I have too.

I'll keep you posted. Enjoy pics of the market --

Steemit line.jpg

We do appraisals each month, this amazing Beatles poster came in. It's one of the holy grails of Beatles posters. They were very excited.
Beatles Poster.jpg

I'm a HUGE obsessive Foo Fighters fan. FINALLY found some vintage Foo. A hanging vinyl promotional poster? I don't know what you call these. But in 7 seasons, no albums no tshirts. Their vintage 90's stuff is tough to find. I want to hang it with my art ;)

Foo fighters nothing left to lose (1).jpg

Duane Scott Cherny of Broadway Antique Mall (one of the best in the city) wrote a book. Selling Dead People's things. He came and signed and sold copies. I've read it. It's an incredible book of Chicago estates and what they found, who they met. Amazing stories. Interested you can get it on Amazon-- -https://www.amazon.com/Selling-Dead-Peoples-Things-Objectionable/dp/0999894900

SDPT.jpg

D Buff IG VGC drafts 3 danny.jpg

Love vintage? Foo Fighter? Cryptocurrency? Let's talk about it!

Melissa

Sort:  

Good luck. You'll be fine. :-)

Thanks, I think so :)

It looks like a good time! Good luck with your markets and that foo fighters poster is pretty neat.

Thanks! I got a few Nirvana ones too. Really cool. This guy worked in records stores for years

Yes- i’d like to see those. My husband just got rid of all his records and he had the ‘purple rain’ album, limited edition purple vinyl, that came with a poster he couldn’t find upon selling everything. A few weeks later I found the poster hiding in our closet… it was a neat find. I miss the art work and creativity of vinyl. It’s just not the same now.

I have the 1999 album but wow the purple vinyl one that's so cool! I bet the poster is probably worth a few bucks! So many buy vinyl today. It's a little cult following that gets bigger every minute--

Yea, it was pretty easy to find someone who wanted to buy his records. We actually called the guy we sold the records to and gave him the poster. It was a neat find though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.37
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70162.45
ETH 3540.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79