The Post That Went Over the Edge... and Off the MapsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #distractions5 years ago

Sometimes I just get started on what seems like a perfectly simple post about a reasonably contained topic... I may even have some good notes, and an outline.

And then?

I end up going off the rails. Several times.

That just happened...

I feel a bit like the theme song from the *"Series of Unfortunate Events;" the words Look away, look away, look away... somehow apply to this mess of a post!

033PrimrosesHSPLoneliness.jpg
Primroses and raindrops...

What I MEANT to Say Was....

I was writing about the way many people experience some form of resistance to change, using as context the recent split of our Steem wallets from the social front end. And how some people seem quite "lost" as part of the process... or, at least, it seemed to set them back from their usual routine.

Then I remembered something I wanted to say about a comment on a recent post, about how sometimes "Big Fish" from the social media world come to our community... and their presence/impact ends up fizzling or becoming insignificant (to some people's disappointment)... but it was actually a related train of thought because you do have to somewhat change your paradigm when you start posting here.

But that wasn't really the entire point...

I got sidetracked into starting a "Wish List" of sorts of the features really needed here, in order to create something more usable and mainstream friendly.

Things we need: page view counter, way to make "off site" readership relevant, way to track people we refer here, way to communicate with others besides wallet memos... the list quickly became long... and then I realized this was really four posts, not one...

030TulipsWritingBeliefs.jpg
Tulip season is here...

Losing my Direction...

In no time at all, I had already wandered a really long way off from my original intent. In fact, I'd pretty much forgotten why I'd started typing, in the first place...

Now I'm sitting here with a bunch of new notes for posts, and the idea at the forefront of my awareness being the thought that Steem/Steemit (however the hell you want to join/separate them, or not) really could use a good bit of an "image makeover" (going back to the comment that sidetracked me), to shed a little bit of the perception that this is mostly a Reddit clone-ish community for fringe-dwelling anarchists and developer/techies.

Not that there's anything inherently wrong with that... other than the fact that it's somewhat self-limiting, when it comes to long term growth because it's a very small niche market.

Which brings me full-circle back to the "Identity Issue" thing: By definition, if we are going to promote this place as something cool to a wider audience we need to start from a definition of what "this" actually IS... because if we don't have that then it's very hard to "sell" the idea.

075CloverBubbDay30.jpg
White clover...

Back to the Drawing Board...

Normally, I'd just delete this as a total shitpost, but for now I'm going to "set it free" as a sort of "marker" that today I was massively scatterbrained.

Which is another way of saying that I am tired of writing a bunch of stuff and then "round filing" it a couple of hours later.

Yes, I'm distracted...

But I'll do better next time...

Comments, feedback and other interaction is invited and welcomed! Because — after all — SOCIAL content is about interacting, right? Leave a comment-- share your experiences-- be part of the conversation!

xxPHCbanner.jpg

(As always, all text and images by the author, unless otherwise credited. This is original content, created expressly for Steemit)
Created at 190408 16:44 PST

0967

Sort:  

I approve.

We can relate to this.

(who the heck is we)

I guess I think we can all relate.

Should I be worried?

Are you actually royalty, and using the royal "we?"

Or were you visited by the Borg, and you are now Whatsup-of-Borg?

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66753.89
ETH 3256.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34