Healthy Eating! | Tips From The Bird’s Nest and Cream Cheezy Delicious Pumpkin Flatbread

in #diy5 years ago (edited)

DSC_0037 (2).jpg

Breakfast Anyone?


Okay, so I know I may be late for breakfast but there’s always tomorrow right? This is breakfast is easy to for the next day! Oh, and btw... Pumpkin is involved!


I love cooking and sharing with all of my fellow foodies! I thought I would begin sharing a few quick tips with you. You know, the ones we all learn from our mistakes, or experiments?


todaysjourney.jpg

Cranberry Cream Cheese on Pumpkin Flatbreads!


Quick Tip!

Did you know you can make your own Cream Cheese? This Cheese is dairy free, tart and just right for all of your Holiday celebrations and treats!


Cream Cheese

  • Soaked Raw Cashews (1 ½ cup)
  • Raw Apple Cider Vinegar (2 tbsp.)
  • Fresh Lemon Juice (2 tbsp.)
  • Fresh water (3 tbsp.)

After you have rinsed and drained the cashews add all ingredients to your favorite blender. Blend until the mixture is smooth, smooth, smooth. You may need to add a bit more water.


DSC_0011 (2).jpg


Now wrap the cashew mixture in double thick cheese cloth, tie tightly and suspend in a large bowl or cup. I just leave this on the counter or in the pantry for 24 hours. This will allow any excess moisture to drain, leaving a thick and creamy, cheezy-licious cheese! Transfer to an airtight container, chill and you’re ready to go!


DSC_0017 (2).jpg


So easy right? And much cheaper than buying at the market!


Now for the Pumpkin Flat Breads!


You’ll need

  • Coconut Flour (1 ½ cup)
  • Baking Powder (1 ½ tsp)
  • Sea Salt (1/4 tsp)
  • Cinnamon (1 ½ tsp)
  • Pumpkin Pulp (1 ½ cup)
  • Organic Maple Syrup (4 tbsp)
  • Flax egg (qty 2)
  • Almond or Coconut Milk (1 ½ cup)
  • Walnuts (1/2 cup)
  • Dried Cranberries- Garnish

Quick Tip!

Don’t buy Coconut flour! Make it yourself! Blend 2 cups unsweetened dried coconut flakes until they’re fine….don’t blend to long or you’ll be making coconut butter!*


Quick Tip!

1 Flax Egg = 1 tablespoon Flax Seeds + 3 tablespoons fresh water. Let it sit for about 10 minutes. Flax Eggs are a great egg replacement for baking!


  • Mix all dry ingredients, then add all wet ingredients. Lastly Chop the walnuts and toss those in!

DSC_0008 (2).jpg

  • Pour into muffin or hamburger tins. Bake at 350 for 30 minutes or until a knife when inserted comes out clean.

DSC_0012 (2).jpg


Spread on the chilled Cream Cheese, sprinkle with Cranberries! And Enjoy!


DSC_0031 (2).jpg


So glad you stopped by the nest today my friends! I hope you found the Bird Tips useful!


And as always, blessings to you all!


loveyourself.jpg


steemusa1.png


The STEEM Engine


Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 330 (12/04/18)

Thank you @thesteemengine! Happy to be a part of the community, meeting new Steemians with huge creativity! :)

That looks so tasty! And I love it even more knowing that it is so healthy! :)

Thank you @gabrielatravels! So glad you stopped in! It was indeed tasty and fun to create :)

Mmmm, it looks pretty delicious and those cranberries sure add a special touch when it comes to the flavor too, not only the visual. Thank you for sharing such a lovely recipe! 💚

You are sweet, thanks for the kind words. Cranberries do add a nice zing to any dish, and they're good for us. I use them a lot during the holiday season! I'm so glad you stopped in :)

Your recipes are awesome! Not only yummy but healthy as well! Great combination!

Aww, thank you @lymepoet! This is so fun for me, I just wish I could give each of these goodies to all of my Steemian friends! So many kind words, truly appreciated :)

Oh please, can I please reach into the computer and pull some of these out? Looks so delicious, and I'm so hungry... ;)

Why of course....I have quite enough for all! Thank you for being so kind @katrina-ariel

Oh yummm @birdsinparadise, your food is just amazing, love the sound of that cream cheese! You really make magic in the Bird kitchen!

You are too sweet my friend, I always appreciate hearing from you. You know you too create serious magic in the kitchen! :) Thanks for stopping in!

I never knew you could make cream cheese like that, MY wife cant have vinegar I wonder if it work without it,

Thanks for sharing these great healthy recipes

Thanks @tatoodjay...I don't think you could exclude the vinegar...I'll try it and let you know, I think that adds to the tart flavor you taste in cream cheese... I'll do a bit of experimenting :)

I will also look up what I could use instead, I suspect you may be right that vinegar is needed and I suspect any alternative for vinegar will allso not be good for Lulu

Congratulations @birdsinparadise! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 500 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 1000

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29