DIY Composter

in #diy6 years ago

I've done some weeding today and realised I need a better composting method. Until now I was using a polyethylene garden bag but the sun/weather broke it down and it wasn't holding up anymore.

I had an old planter that I used for potatoes a couple of years ago and it was falling apart.
Bought some chicken wire, wood and nails and started patching it up.
20180514_145058_HDR.jpg

Started with the chicken wire, just stapled it around 3 sides.
20180514_153212.jpg

Built the base first so I could work easier.
20180514_162009.jpg

Reinforced all around with wood, covered the top and made a simple top door that's hinged just by the chicken wire.
20180514_180228_HDR.jpg

At the moment I've just used some boards to block the bottom part, might add a hinged door or just leave it as it is.
20180514_180251_HDR.jpg

Aaaand that's it, weeds are in and the should compost nicely now. Might cover the top with some plastic lining as it is just a MDF board atm.
20180514_181436_HDR.jpg

This will not win any beauty contests but hopefully it will do the job.

Cheers

Sort:  

Wooow good working..
And emazing..
You build this elone sir

Thank you!

Yeah, built it alone, rather simple thing to be honest. I did use a lot of staples though, heh!

As long as you get compost out of it who cares what it looks like. I use the green coated fence for my bins. It was easy to throw together but I lose some compost through the holes.

You're right! Compost is what it's all about. And worms, heh, I don't have to buy any when going fishing.
I'm sure I'm going to lose some through the holes as well, but can't have it all :D

Maybe some translucent plastic on top? That MDF will fall apart in no time, I think, and some sunlight in there to warm things up ought to help with the composting. Yours probably will work just fine though since it's probably stuff you had laying around :)

I was actually thinking of covering the whole thing in black plastic to really get it going(and because I already have some :D). It's in the shade for half of the day anyway so I don't think that it would get too hot.

That's an interesting way to do a composter. It doesn't have to be complex to get the job done.

Thanks!
Hopefully it will do a good job. Never had a proper composter before so I'll need to supervise it and see if it works.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77