My Knives #16 - a duck(bird) and trout (ish) 🦆🐡

in #diy6 years ago (edited)

Hello dear Stemians,

And now something completely different!


head.jpg

So this knife is a bit of an oddity for me, first of all, it's not a cooking related knife, and secondly, it is my first-ever stainless steel knife.
OK, I've been known to do a knife or two that was not meant for the kitchen. Remember Bowie, Necker, or the Caveman that can be seen in My Hobby post.

Using a stainless steel(SS) is, on the other hand, is something I've never done. I've talked at length about why I don't use SS, aside from the fact that my personal preference is carbon steel, one of the reasons I don't use SS is heat-treatment.
Namely, the rule of thumb is - the more complex the steel alloy is, the more complicated heat treatment it.
And it can go into SF with some of the super steels. And I simply don't have the equipment for something like that.

There is a way around this, you can send the knife to be heat treated to a professional. And, that's actually a good way to get quality TH without investing in expensive equipment.

But, it kinda goes against what my idea of how I want to make my knives - all me, every single step of the build.

I'm not saying it's the right way of thinking, nor do I look down on guys who outsource their TH or any other part of knifemaking. I'm just saying that's the way I want to do my knives.

Anywho, 12C27 - the steel I've used for this knife is probably the simplest SS there is. And being simple it was just on the border of what I can do in my workshop. I actually got it as a gift from a friend for the last Christmas, and after seating in the corner for half a year I've said - fuck it, let's do it.

Uh, that's a looong intro.

The Knife

You've probably seen this knife in a post of mine in early July. I did a giveaway for my IG followers and decided to include Steemians in it - 1000 followers (almost) GIVEAWAY!!!.

For one reason or another, it took me two months to finish it and as it's sailing across the ocean I wanted to take you through the build process.

So here we go!

Waiting for it's turn to be cut out
IMG_20180726_120953.jpg


Just out of the HT
IMG_20180803_144300.jpg


Starting the primary bevel
IMG_20180803_163909.jpg


Done with the primary bevel and the Spanish choil
IMG_20180804_133713.jpg


Done with the hand-sanding
IMG_20180804_162527.jpg


Starting to work on the handle
IMG_20180929_130957.jpg


Handle from rough to the final coat of oil
IMG_20180929_135727.jpg
IMG_20180929_145345.jpg
IMG_20180929_150612.jpg
IMG_20181004_163329.jpg

The Final Product


Sorry, again no DSLR pics

IMG_20181005_143900_1.jpg
IMG_20181005_143834.jpg

And that's it.
Thanks for stopping by, and see you soon with another knife or something...

Sort:  

Didn't write to you for some time now... You're still doing a great work?! Congrats! Nice knife!

I do try - it's up to the world to say if what I do is great or not ;)
And thanks

Yes! You're right! & I am the smallest part of that world! 😉

I really love your collection you are remarkable & great artistic man.

Thank you, and welcome back, I've missed you ;)

Hello @docsmith, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

@creativecrypto Thanks guys - much appreciated.

😀😁😁 Anche sul mio ultimo lavoro ho messo gli spaziatori... Però rosso
IMG_20181007_105805.jpg

IMG_20181007_105631.jpg
Bel lavoro @docsmith, il coltello mi piace. Fallo da te il forno... Ci sono riuscito anche io.
Un saluto, nicola

Thank you Nicola,
that's a beautiful knife - I love the tapered tang ;)

And yep, I love liners - I almost always use them on full tangs.
As for HT - I need to build myself an electrical oven, and soon ;)

I love this! Amazing knife :O You are a true artisan, @docsmith <3

upvotes and follows

Thank you ;)

Great knife @docsmith. I love all kinds of knives and I would use this one for foraging mushrooms. Especially for cutting larger mushrooms like a Chicken mushroom or a puffball. @docsmith can you checkout the @cookwithus discord chat when you get a second. We were trying to reach you with a question. Thanks!

Actually, you are not wrong especially concerning the profile - it would be a good shrums knife. But I do think that it's a bit too thick - this one is 4mm in the spine

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66137.63
ETH 3161.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13