This is a micro hydro electric turbine array that I have been experimenting with.

in #diy6 years ago (edited)

micro hydro.jpg
This is a very simple micro hydro turbine array that I built using six (12 Volt 10 Watt) turbines. I still have to add blocking diodes and do the wiring on this particular array but when testing an array of just two of the turbines I had pretty good results. The turbines themselves only require 7.25 PSI (or 0.05Mpa) to start generating electricity. The individual turbines themselves can be purchased online for roughly five dollars USD which makes this a very affordable project.

Specifications of the F50-12V micro hydro turbine generators that I use are listed below.

  • The output voltage :12V

  • between the wire resistance 10.5 ± 0.5Ω

  • Insulation resistance 10MΩ (DC100 megger)

  • the maximum pressure 0.6Mpa outlet closed (87.0226 PSI)

  • the outlet opening maximum pressure 1.2Mpa (174.045 PSI)

  • Start pressure 0.05Mpa (7.25 PSI)

Mechanical properties and the operating environment:

  • axial clearance 0.2-1.0mm

  • mechanical noise ≤55dB

  • the weight of the Generator : 90g

  • generator life : ≥3000h

Hydro-0a.png

Hydro-1.jpg

hydro-2.jpg

Sort:  

Thanks. I am still slowly gathering the resources to fully implement a water system to 'power' it but I have visions of doing very large arrays with these turbines. I keep thinking how awesome a hundred of them in an array would be pumping out 1,000 watts of electricity. Per watt they are actually much cheaper than most of the current solar panels on the market but there are other considerations like the water needs, the piping and that they having moving parts that can potentially break. All in all though it is a fun project and hopefully will eventually help me solve some of my electrical needs.

Very cool, I have a couple of these micro generators, but I haven't gotten around to testing them out yet, so i'm looking forward your seeing how your testing of them turns out :)

They are really neat. I am a ways off on further testing for the time being but I am sure that I will be posting about my progress as soon as it happens. Basically I need to setup the water system for it and find better fittings for connecting them together because the 1/2" to 1/2" unions that I have been using do not actually accommodate a good seal. I am working on another article about the dual turbine array that I initially built and tested and can hopefully get it posted by this evening.

This is pretty slick. Can you explain how you calibrated your megaohm meter? I just bought one for a DIY project and I don't know how to ensure that it is reading correctly.

Yeah I think it is pretty slick also. :) As for your calibration question I have never actually calibrated one. I have never found myself working on anything that requires ultra-precision either so the need to do so has never really occurred. I guess that if you wanted to check for accuracy you could plug in an AC to DC adapter that has the voltage listed on it and check the meter for accuracy that way. You could do the same for checking the amperage. Just an idea.

Yeah pretty awesome! Looks like ypu could hook that up just about anywhere, even on rain catchment systems? Or in between the main and the rest of the house!

I would think that either is possible. You need enough PSI from the rain catchment system to get decent power off it. As for the main I don't see why not as long as the PSI is not too high that it damages the device. All the specifications are included in the article so you can use that as a reference for the water pressure requirements. I just added the Mpa to PSI conversions to it for you. :)

Thanks, I guess I didn't think about too much pressure could damage the devices!

Out here where we are, we still have to figure out our water system for this winter... not sure we can collect rain water in the dead of winter!

Thanks

I have collected rain water during the dead of winter. Sometimes it freezes and sometimes it does not. You could attempt to either insulate your holding tanks or bury them in the ground. Not sure how you have everything setup but as the saying goes 'where there is a will...there is a way'.

Haha, yes thank you. For sure 'where there is a will...there is a way'. I will try to remember this saying.

I'm sure I will try to collect in winter too.... we are getting close to having the money for a well. Fingers crossed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75