Candy Cane Earrings, Part 2!

in #diy5 years ago (edited)

I have some proper red beads now, so it is time to switch over from my previous pastel prototype and make something properly festive!

Roadblock: these new beads have holes that are too small for my head pins.

Solution: I used a thinner gauge jewelry wire. The lack of a head just meant I had to form loops at both ends for double the jinglebells. Since the wire is so thin, I formed my loops at the ends and then wrapped the tag end around the wire again for more strength. This wire does seem strong enough to hold its candy-cane shape though.

20181203_095005.jpg

I think the 9mm bells in the center look too large, but the smaller 6mm bells work well with both silver and gold colored findings in my opinion. What do you think? And would you get annoyed by wearing jingle bells right next to your ear-holes for any length of time?

Sort:  

Hello, I'm going through your blog because I call my attention to this piece, you have a quite varied blog but I inclined for the pieces you've done and for the photographs, it's always a pleasure to meet new people, see new posts and learn from them. review your trip to Montana a little, I like to know new places.

I send you greetings from Venezuela, you have won a new follower who is pleased to see your post.

Welcome aboard! Yes, I use this platform for an odd variety of hobby posts, and philosophical musings, plus the occasional post recounting my infrequent travels.

Thanks for your welcome to your blog, I like who pays attention to their followers, that's great

Lacking pierced ears, I can't say for sure. But I think the larger bells would become annoying.

These are cute! I agree, the bells in the center are a bit too large. The other ones are just right!
For me personally, I would be annoyed with jingly bells in my ears. But then, any kind of dangly earring is annoying for me. I wear studs only. Homesteading and mothering and all that just doesn't lend itself well to jewelry that dangles. The goats will eat it or a human kid will yank it, or Ill manage to get laundry stuck on it or something. Im like that... :/
I think someone who DOES like wearing dangly earrings will love these though! Super cute!

Fortunately, now that photography is done, and readers have a visual size reference, I can change out the bells quite easily. I can imagine how troublesome these could be for people who need to do something more strenuous and productive than just being ornamental!

Haha so true!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61041.41
ETH 2947.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85