DIY ~ Engine Oil Change ~ DIY Saving Time And Money ~ DIYsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #diy5 years ago (edited)
Sort:  

Dude, phenomenal write up on this topic. Sadly it has been underrated/unappreciated vote worth wise. Resteemed to hopefully change that! :)

I am very humbled by your words. Hopefully my hard work can payoff over the next 7 days. Lol. I guess I could always buy a bunch of bidbots....Kidding Kidding.
Thanks for the Resteem
Cheers and Steem on

You're welcome. So far so good I'd say. And no bid bots, even better ;)
Steem on!

Hey @jlsplatts, Your post has been determined to be Splat-Worthy!! Therefore You’ve been Splatted by the Splatz Curation Trail
E4D5E914-6CE9-4EA4-950A-18B199BC20DE.gif
source
Rewarding Your Original Work
With an Upvote
And
Resteem

Awesome tutorial with lots of detail and a lot of effort put in.

Changing oil is not a real challenge, if you know what to do.
With that tutorial, it´s almost a "no-brainer".

What I recommend is to drive the car for a while to let the oil warm up. As warm oil is much thinner and flows better than cold oil. So you get a lot more dirt and used oil out of the higher parts of the engine.

Best regards,
Hasenmann

PS: upvoted & resteemed & I follow you

I totally forgot to add that!! Great now I am goin to have to add that in, because that is what I do everytime. Lol

Thanks for stopping by and thank you for the kind words and friendly reminder.

also, you're supposed to replace that copper crush washer every time. most places don't. badly installed oil plugs is the main reason I do my own oil, and it gives you a chance to inspect the engine, transmission, steering rack & suspension. and with a little more gear, you can do diff & trans fluids too.

I normally get away with reusing the crush washer by turning it over. If I notice a little leakage then I change it. Definitely a cross threaded drain plug can become a serious nightmare. I just did the rear diff about 6 months ago and I just noticed what looks like the rear seal of my transfer case is leaking a little bit so that might be next on the list. At 215k miles it could be time to do so.

I had a place forget to put my oil cap back on a long time ago. Let’s just say it was a huge mess. My little Geo Prism puked oil everywhere. Lol

Amazing post. It goes straight to my FOREVER GREAT bookmark. So useful and so well written.

Thank you for sharing your know-hows !!!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34