Sort:  

thanks man

You ain’t kidding a long one. Am I understand you correctly, you have a repaired iPhone 6 that you don’t need anymore because you have the X? 🤔

Eh, what app are you using for your circles and arrows? Looks a lot cleaner than my hand drawn circles.

Way to deliver a lengthy one, @jlsplatts. What took longer, the repair or the article?

Yes I just got a new iPhone X a couple days ago. I did this fix about 2 months ago. I am going to use the 6 as an iPod in the Excursion and also have it as a back up phone just in case anything happens to my wife’s or my phone.

I’m using the editor in the photos app. Hit edit at the top. Then the circle with the 3 dots in it in the bottom right corner. Then hit the + button in the bottom right corner. Then in the bottom of the bubble that pops up there are shapes and arrows... pick one.

The post took way longer than the actual project. I have been working on it 1/2 hr here and a 1/2 hr there all day yesterday and this morning. Dang that took forever. Lol

I may need a DIY on that, Splatts! I clicked edit, clicked the circle with three dots but there’s no plus sign—just this:

550D8D2F-B7D7-40EE-97C5-5DFC5F150C27.png

If I clock that set of three dots, it just takes me to a screen that allows to to turn off markup and express. 🤔

Forgot you need to hit “markup” my bad

Phenomenal! Brother, I switched to iPhone around the middle of 2009 when Verizon pissed me off for the last time. I went over to ATT and got an iPhone—been a huge fan ever since.

10.. count’em! 10 years later, I never knew this F’ing thing did that! You’re the best.

I know right... “Oh wow, I didn’t know that??!?” Hahaha. I’ve had an iPhone since the 3G and I still have it somewhere and it works. Besides a finicky home button and it is slower than molasses. Lol
My iPhone 4 worked great until some one stole it out of my car. Then my wife’s 5s just has some speaker issues that I could fix but I just haven’t.

I had to bust out my binoculars to see into that bad boy and call my keebler elf friends to help w mine.

Lol still reading ol timer

DAH HA HAHA

Didn’t you just get a new phone? You’re Mr. DIY, and we need your assistance all the way over here in Costa Rica please… thanks for your help Splatts. 😉

Yes I did, I had an itch for an upgrade and I did this repair a couple months back. I just hadn’t got around to creating the post.
Hopefully you guys can get your ride going and find the issue. If you lived close I would just head over and tear it apart for you, find the problem then tell @dandays to put it back together. HAHAHA
I don’t think it is anything major but then again you just never know until you find the exact problem.

I know, it’s such a bummer right now. Dandays is pretty good with cars but this might be beyond his scope. I know nothing about them so I just sit back and pray 🥶. He’s actually down there checking out something you guys were considering. Fingers crossed!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Awesome!! Thank you very much!!

Hi jlsplatts,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thanks @curie, haven’t seen you in a while.

Posted using Partiko iOS

It looks fiddly and complicated. I love my phone right now and will just get it repaired if anything goes wrong. I don't think I could do this as I will mess something up somewhere. I don't have the patience required to do fiddly screws and I always end up with spare parts after repairs. Nice to know you can do it though.

Very nice walkthrough with step by step photos and descriptions @jlsplatts.
I replaced the digitizer of my daughters' ipad a couple of times by following such a walkthrough. We are very lucky you guys post such good stuff.

Although I managed to replace the digitizer a couple of times, this lightning connector replacement looks a bit trickier than the digitizer :) But still if you follow the steps, I guess it is doable.

I felt a little overwhelmed at first but just kept at it and kept those little tiny screws organized. I never knew they made screws that stinkin’ small!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hahha, yeah it can be quite overwhelming yes :) Most of the time I make photos before I start. And if there are a lot of screws I make more photos :D

Hi there @jlsplatts!

So you are the elctronic guy we all need! Too bad I dont own an iphone.. hehe.

But I admire your devotion in trying to fix and find a replacement even if you already bought a new one. Still hanging on to it makes it more challenging to push through. Patience do serves to those who pervently dont give up.

Keep up the faith!

Posted using Partiko Android

I would go to far with that electronic guy stuff. :wink:wink. I have only performed a couple surgeries on my iPhone and that is it for my electronic repair back story. Sometimes you just gotta take a chance and try something knew and you might learn a thing or two.
Cheers

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hahahahaha anyone who does magic with any gadgets are superb!

Yeah I guess, we would do anything for our phones to make it work again. Its a good thing you love how to do electrical operations or else your phone might wind up super dead..

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow, I could not imagine that you can repair IPhone yourself. Nowadays all electric equipment companies try to do so that you can't change parties and need to get a new equipment. But it was really amazing to see your post. I thought all the time that at the end something happens and you plan fails but I was really nicely surprised to see that everything well very well. I believe important thing is to be patient and careful, of course nice fine instruments to deal with. I am glad to hear that despite of couple of months your IPhone is still going!

I wasn’t sure I could repair it either. Lol. But after doing a battery replacement on it about a year ago, I realized here are some things that definitely can be repaired/replaced to keep the phone going.
I am sure glad it all worked out too. I was expected to lose a screw or two. Lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85