Sunday Morning @ The Splatts House ~ Serious Duck BusinesssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #diy5 years ago (edited)
Sort:  

Hey @jlsplatts, Your post has been determined to be Splat-Worthy!! Therefore You’ve been Splatted by the Splatz Curation Trail
E4D5E914-6CE9-4EA4-950A-18B199BC20DE.gif
source
Rewarding Your Original Work
With an Upvote
And
Resteem
If you find posts worthy of a nasty Splatin’ feel free and mention @splatz in a Your reply to their post. Call me out!!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hi jlsplatts,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

hi @jlsplatts
how can you just think of eating a duck after you treat them under your own roof? I do not think you could kill one and cook it! Anyway, your story is really nice, and it must be a lot of fun to have these animals running around the garden. And they are so impatient to go in their bathtub, just like the kids! They are very funny and what beautiful eggs they produce ! Well done!

I would have a tough time killing and eating these fun little guys, my daughters heart would be broken. They have such funny personalities it wouldn’t feel right I can tell you that much.
Thank you

Posted using Partiko iOS

You're Crazy 😜.

Maybe start selling some eggs or chicks...

Normally we eat them as fast as they produce them. This time we saved them up for a big batch of Egg salad sandwiches. I’m getting started in the gym this week, I just came up with a shake that has over 1200 calories and over 120 grams of protein. I will show you tonight when I make it. Muahahaha

Posted using Partiko iOS

🏋️‍♂️🍕🦆🍳

Ha ha ha, they look so happy. This is like paradise for them. They are really enjoying the bath. Great job and nice photos.

They are really fun to watch. When one runs across the yard for no apparent reason, here some the rest of them. Almost like lemmings or something.

Yes, they do love it when their pond gets all cleaned out. That is probably when they get the craziest.

Thanks for stopping by and the kind words.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Ha, I'm glad I'm not the only one that keeps a bunch of random parts and pieces around because "it'll come in handy one day".

Do you have any plans to let a few of the eggs hatch and wait til they plump up to eat them? I don't know about you but roast duck is one of my favorite meals.

I often ask why I have certain things laying around, then this one instance tells me why. Lol. Every now and again I toss some stuff out.

You know, I haven’t really thought of it, Nor have I ever had roast duck before. The only way I have ever had duck was jerky. I have a brother that is an addict when it comes to duck hunting. He just breasts them out, thin slices the breasts and then smokes them into jerky. Plus the ducks he gets are as “organic” as it gets. Lol. These Indian Runner Ducks are pretty tall and slender, I’m not sure how well they will “fatten up”

Posted using Partiko iOS

Duck jerky, now that sounds like a treat! I've never came across that before, I may have to make some here soon. Years ago I got sick of having turkey every Thanksgiving and Christmas and managed to convince my family we should do duck instead. It's quite tasty, as long as you like dark meat.

Ha, I imagine anything with runner in the name probably wasn't meant to be fattened...

Just a little tip for duck jerky, thin slice it and marinate for like 3 days. My brother know from hundreds of pounds of jerky. They meat is more dense and doesn’t have any fat. My brother goes hunting all winter long and ends up with multiple 1 Gallon freezer bags full of duck breasts. I better hit him up and go rob his freezer. Lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations @jlsplatts! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 33000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 34000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Those ducks must be so excited to finally get into their clean pond. You really are dedicated to always set out time to clean it up for them, i really don't know if i will be able to do that.

I like your idea of using the pond water to water you plants, it definitely is a good source of fertilizer for them.

And oh, those eggs! I wonder how delicious it will be🤔😋

Sometimes I wonder if I should clean it a little more often. It takes about 15-20 minutes to get it cleaned out so it’s not that time consuming. These guys can make a mess really fast.

Their eggs are delicious!! Especially hard boiled with a dash of salt. I made omelettes not too long ago and they were very very good. Plus they are huge. Lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

15-20mins? Wow! I actually thought it took longer to get it all cleaned up. You can definitely make it twice a week since it is not that time-consuming. Well, except if you have so many things on your plate that needs to get done. You know, my sister hates eating ducks (she has never eaten one) because of how messy they can be. "They are such dirty creatures", she will say.

Quite different to the really small eggs of geese... I hope to try the Duck egg someday...

haha! howdy jlsplatts! what a fun and informational post, gotta love those ducks, I don't often hear of people keeping ducks and then being able to eat their eggs, very cool! great job on this post.

Thank you kindly sir. Ya these guys are a lot of fun. After doing some research we decided on them over chickens. They are better at handling at the cold and they are less prone to many of the disease than chickens. Plus they don’t tear up your yard as bad I guess

Howdy again sir jlspatts! Well that is so interesting, I didn't know that. So more people should be going for the ducks then, logic would assume. And the size of those eggs, wow! Plus they're highly entertaining. lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66753.89
ETH 3256.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34