DIY Ball Winder For YarnsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #diy5 years ago (edited)

I am in the process of crocheting a hat. I have four skeins of yarn that I wanted to wind into a ball, but it takes longer than I would like so I started looking for a ball winder online and was surprised at how expensive or bulky they were. I didn't want to spend any "real" money on an instrument that would save me some time so I started thinking of what I could do to make one myself.

rafwgfnt1o.jpg

I have been doing a lot of home maintenance and I own the tools that I need to do the work. I have always believed that you need the right tool for the job to be efficient. I remembered seeing online somewhere a woman who used a whisk in a cordless drill to wind yarn. I started off with an old whisk that I used for household chores other than food.

tq2swzjlos.jpg

I was able to stick it in the chuck of a cordless drill. I then inserted a cardboard paper towel roll over the whisk. I turned on the drill and the paper towel tube spun around. I added my yarn around the tube and then guided the yarn the way that thread winds around a bobbin.

km3xp5l77w.jpg

Whisk method with paper towel tube

zpd9j4tl6j.jpg

It worked! I had one skein wound around a paper towel tube. When I was almost ready for another ball of yarn, I didn't have another empty paper towel tube. My son suggested that I use the cardboard insert in a coat hanger. I didn't think that it would work as well, but I tried it out.

hyiylb8bp5.jpg

Coat hanger insert method

4fef7rv2sm.jpg

It worked very well and I have plenty of those available. I used a 20V Dewalt cordless drill to make my second ball of yarn.

The cardboard insert was cut down about 4 inches before I began. I videotaped about 30 seconds just so that you can see how fast it spins.

4fef7rv2sm.jpg

The yarn on the cardboard hanger will now flow easily out of a bucket or in my case a pot strainer. I use what I have available to solve the problem.

te2p8eb85j.jpg

After I finished making my second ball of yarn, I started looking for a photo of a ball winder for my post. I was surprised to find an actual product that is sold online with an adapter and a spool that can be used in a cordless drill. There is even a video of how the product works.

k8id8c3seb.png

https://woolery.com/speed-winder-insert.html?

I showed it to my son and told him "There is nothing new under the sun." Even when we think that we have been novel in our approach to solving a problem, someone else has thought about it, done it, and may be selling a product to end users.

I am still satisfied with my methodology however, because it didn't cost me anything but a little time that will save me a lot of time in the long run.

Do it yourself and save money that can be used for something else, like flying instead of driving. :)

kfz7b6l754.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been selected to be included in my weekly Sustainability Curation Digest for the Minnow Support Project.



Thanks for the recognition and support.

Excellent review, my friend and the fact that you made this device surprises me, especially since they are on sale, well done! Thank you @jluvs2fly

I'm surprised your wits. Perfectly invented. Thank you for sharing

Oh yes @jluvs2fly, you came up with a drill and a whisk. The most interesting is that such devices are already being used for sale, but you could do it yourself!

Perfectly invented. I will take note of this. Thank you very much for the advice

Great idea! But be careful with the tension - if there is too much 'pull' on the yarn when it's on a ball it can shrink after being knitted or crocheted. I was told not to keep it too long in a ball or even in a cake. That's why the usual ball winders (and the nostepinne I shows recently) are for being pulled out of the ball/cake. That relaxes the yarn (and you can pull from the inside which is much more easier to handle).

You’re right @muscata. Perhaps one can loop it around something on the wayto the spool to ease tension. Weavers use the drill trick, but they don’t have the same tension concerns that knitters and crocheters do.

Thanks for the helpful hint @muscara. I was guiding the yarn as I put it on the tube and the rod, but I will definitely check the tension. I didn’t think of that.

That is genius. I am all about DIY, saving time and money.

That's awesome!!! I love it. And I have a drill...

That was pretty creative.

It's great I'll have a lot of thread loose.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30