Leather Drink Cover - DIY

in #diy5 years ago

I was sitting outside drinking a glass of iced tea enjoying the day. Every now and then, a flying insect got close to my drink and I fanned it away. I remembered the leather drink cover that I had seen after my dance class a couple of weeks ago, so I decided to try my luck with making one.

o0lzguk6uu.jpg

I have plenty of leather, suede, beads, wire and other supplies that would dress up a piece of leather. I even have grommets, a very large hole puncher for grommets, and rivets that I bought years ago for a handmade leather belt.

40i01wa5k8.jpg

I used my glass of iced tea as the model for the type of glass that I wanted to cover. I cut out a 6 inch square of leather and found the center. I punched a hole in the center and then applied a large grommet that would accommodate a straw.

6vwzu56sh7.jpg

I didn't have any smaller grommets and I wanted to use the supplies that I had on hand rather than buying more materials for this simple project.

plybalbfo4.jpg

I used some rivets that actually have a little weight on them that keeps the leather flap from raising up. I think that I am going to continue to add embellishments to make it prettier, but for now it works.

uqqqzqun00.jpg

Have a great day!

25a0c5f9jb.jpg

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations @jluvs2fly! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69796.92
ETH 3521.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.70