DIY - My home-made franken-violin named Margarite

in #diy5 years ago (edited)

IMG_20190604_171436~2.jpg

Seeing as my DIY on my homemade amp was so popular on Steemit, I decided to do a small write-up on my franken-violin who I have named Margarite.

DD32_01-1200x480.jpg
Bli-me, I even found a picture of Camille and vlog post, check it out here.

First off, I was inspired by another street musician (Camille) who had an amazing instrumental act involving a loop pedal, a guitar and a clarinet. It was music that just made me happy. After six years of street music, I'm a bit over the whole one man and his guitar thing. I also wanted to do something besides singing because my days of screaming jazzy blues on the street are numbered! I got my old loop pedal from a friend in Perth and put my mind to the new unbending intent.

So the story goes, I was working at a friend's restaurant called Gypsy Tapas in Fremantle, and I saw a 3/4 sized violin on the wall. It was their daughter's first violin, now used as a prop in the restaurant. I asked if it could buy it and the price named was 40AUD. So I took it.

hqdefault.jpg
This is a Cretan Lyra

Inspired by other three string violin-like instruments used in Bulgaria, Turkey and Greece - I was committed to make something that sounded good, looked good and wasn't too hard to learn. So since January of this year (now being early June) I have been developing an act with a loop pedal and experimenting different ways of using this violin. I've attached a knee stand and a strap to keep her steady, also making it easy to switch between instruments when using the loop pedal because she's already attached to my knee.

So here she is, with a bit of a demo at the end on a video. I hope you enjoy and I'll see you in Auckland (July) and France (August) this year (other places too, I've just no idea how to plan these things as it generally all goes organically). I'll be playing traditional bulgarian/turkish style improvisation for a sufi whirling dervish sema workshop near the south of France from the 17th of August as well.

Here is the head, although a bit battered, you can see that I carved out the previous nut and included a new one for three stings I made out of the previous bridge:
IMG_20190604_171902.jpg

I still use markings to give me some reference for the notes as I've only been playing since January, I'm not too concerned with appearing skilled or not, I just want a good sound:
IMG_20190604_171913.jpg

Here's the new bridge I bought and carved to accomodate three strings as well. The bridge is well below what a standard violin normally is, so I can get the best spacing for the notes in the neck (small violin and big fingers) and with the sound post inside moved down it makes a similar sound to a traditional instrument:
IMG_20190604_171852.jpg

Here is how the strap fits on my knee. I found the strap on the side of the road just when I was looking for one, how convenient, and that block below that mountain of glue gun glue is a piece of wood I found in the garden and carved out a bit to carry the shape of the bottom of the violin:
IMG_20190604_171530.jpg

Here is the hole I put in the back to put the lapel microphone I use, which you can see in the video. You're probably concerned about the sound by now, seeing as I've gutted it. See the video at the bottom for a demo:
IMG_20190604_171835.jpg

Here it is in the customized case with extra padding added and the bottom of the case cut out a bit to accomodate the foot:
IMG_20190604_171401.jpg

IMG_20190604_171420.jpg

IMG_20190604_171449.jpg

With all the added foam inside it fits snug as a bug:
IMG_20190604_171350.jpg

Margarite's spiral skin:
IMG_20190604_171339.jpg

And here's a short demo video to give you an idea of the sound:

Something worth mentioning is that the strings are worth more than the violin.

Thanks for checking my post out and be sure to check out my DIY Amp post as well.

Monty

===

Please upvote, comment and reshare! Thanks!

Sort:  

Wow @montycashmusic! That is so amazing and it sounds great too!

Thank you to @bengy for featuring your post in his Pay It Forward Curation Contest entry 😊

Thanks a lot for coming and checking it out! Are you a musician yourself?

Posted using Partiko Android

You're welcome! I wouldn't call what I do with my guitar being a musician, but I dabble 😊

Well good luck to you! I think we're all musicians in one way or another. All the best, Monty

Posted using Partiko Android

That's very cool, I love DIY stuff that doesn't stick to the mold.

Thanks so much for checking it out! I love making things with what I've got, I don't see limited capital as an obstacle. I always find a way! 🤣

Posted using Partiko Android

Resteemed, your post will appear in the next curation with a SBD share for you!


Your post has been supported and upvoted from the Classical Music community on Steemit as it appears to be of interest to our community. We also support jazz and folk music posts!

If you enjoy our support of the #classical-music community, please consider a small upvote to help grow the support account!

You can find details about us below.


The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio or follow our curation trail (classical-radio) at SteemAuto!

Delegation links: 10SP, 25SP, 50SP, 75SP, 100SP, 150SP, 200SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP

Wow! As a professional violinst... I'm quite amazed! and horrified! It's a pretty weird looking thing that you've constructed there, but when you play it... it sort of works! Well done!

I have featured you and this post for a Curation Contest here:

https://steemit.com/curation/@bengy/payitforward-week61entry-n5bdjcemi2

You can join the fun here:

https://steemit.com/payitforward/@pifc/week-61-pay-it-forward-curation-contest

Hey, I'm glad you came to check it out. I realise how this could scare some people. But I'm a street musician, I just break rules!

Thanks for the post feature as well!

Monty

Posted using Partiko Android

Here's a very short taksim to give an idea of the sound it can make for the purposes of traditional music:

https://www.instagram.com/p/ByWjGSHlhp7/?igshid=f1uh3shoc1o2

Posted using Partiko Android

No problem, it was a nice experiment... I love the way you play it too, like a little treble gamba! Ha... we all break different rules...

Wow. I wanted to hate this - for abusive of an instrument... Sort of what @bengy was saying. (I played violin in grade school.) But I love what you did with it, and the obvious love and care you put into the project.
Great job.

I found you because @bengy featured you in the Pay it Forward Curation Contest. Keep up the great work!

Hey thanks so much for coming and having a look. I understand what you're saying and for sure there was a risk that I would destroy it with my experimentation.

Personally I like to pull things apart and see how they work. It was either this 40 dollar violin that was never going to be used again or another one I saw in a window at a second hand charity store for 70 dollars.

Also I've had many guitars over the years of my travels and I've left many behind in places I've been, but because of my willingness to have a go when something is broken or if I feel I can make it better, I have an instrinsic understanding of how they work.

My current guitar is a 100 euro wonder from Skopje in North Macedonia and I've made alterations to make it something I'm happy with.

Playing music on the street means I want a good sound but I don't want to carry around a gold mine to be taken from me from when I'm sleeping. Which happened in Barcelona once.

It's my first time to experiment with a violin like this and I'm pleased there was no casualty. I would like to work my way up to learning an actual Cretan Lyra (played with fingernails on on the neck) or a Bulgarian Gadulka (played with a gentle pressure on the strings not pressing onto the neck).

I didn't want to wait to go back to these countries to learn and buy one of these so I just made an imitation myself. I may go back there some day soon, but I love the sound of a stringed instrument and wanted to use it now in my work.

Anyways, I bet you weren't expecting an essay in reply but here it is!

All the best,

Monty

Posted using Partiko Android

You're also a writer at heart, so, that's just cool. I can rarely keep comments short-and-sweet either. :-)

Your strings experience sounds wonderful. I'm more of a woodwinds gal, myself - I used to have the full octave set of tin whistles, for instance. I still don't have a sopranino recorder though.

I totally get your point of not wanting to carry around a gold mine - and something truly unique is to your advantage to be sure. It's like when I travel with black suitcases - I always paint them up with dabs of sampler paints so that I can recognize my suitcase in an instant.

Something I miss from living in England is all the buskers here and there - on the Tube, along the town's pedestrian precinct... wherever. It gave such a lively atmosphere - not something often done in the US, unfortunately.

Great to meet you, Monty. I will try to catch your posts again soon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64549.55
ETH 3170.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13