A dream comes to an end... My 300 gallon tank has to go!

in #diy6 years ago

A quite short time ago, I recieved a termination note from my landlord. He sold the house I live in and everybod has to moove out (5 families), because the new landlord wants to live here himself. Quite bad timing, but probably there is never a good timing for these sort of things.

P1050964.JPG

We looked quite hard to find a new home and finally found one, that fits our needs. ALMOST all our needs.

I never talked about that, but I am quite a geek concerning aquariums. I always had some of them and always did a lot of experimenting and building stuff on my own. Sometimes I made rear walls from natural stones, often I build aquarium stands, I invented and improved filter techniques and a lot other things. Since we last had to move, I had no aquarium but really wanted a seawater aquarium.

P1050963.JPG

One night just before Xmas 2016 I found one that was perfect for me. An insane big one for almost no money. It was a 300 gallon tank with almost everything needed to run it perfectly, including automatic refill, waterchanging, big pumps with good names. Unfortunately it was HEAVY and dirty.

IMG_1526.JPG
AQ.JPG
Technikschrank.JPG

You can't imagine the task bringing it into my home and cleaning it. It involved hiring the local youth fire brigade and several months of work...

I build the stand on my own, using the plans provided by a sick inventor calling himself "rocket engineer", who is building really insane wooden aquarium stands for years. See here some of my efforts during the building process:

IMG_1656.JPG
the "ingredients"
IMG_1663.JPG
IMG_1669.JPG
Can you see the "german perfection"?
IMG_1671.JPG
done ;-)

Actually I am selling everything with a tear in my eye. So much work, dedication and effort without seeing at least one fish swimming in that future paradise.

Hopefully I can find a small spot in our new home to put another aquarium in. Probably a much smaller one, unfortunately.

Read you soon!

Pollux.One.gif

Sort:  

I’m quite an aquarium geek myself but I never saw something this size in a home.

Why have you decided to sell it ? One of these aquariums is gonna cost you half a fortune if you buy it new ..

Explained it in the article... have to move. No space in the new home. The initial price was about 10k, I bought it much cheaper ;-)

Well you did an awesome place restoring it ! Someone will be happy to have it. There is nothing more beautiful than a seawater aquarium. I bought one when I was living in China and bought corals for I don’t know how much, but it was breath taking.

Many years ago i was called up to carry a huge aquarium tank upwards spiral stairs, it's was a nightmare.

The things was as heavy that 3 full grown man were just able to lift it, and then we tried to coordinate it on these narrow stairs.
Lucky us, that we got it done without any serious injuries... :)

Good luck searching for a small corner for a new tank in the new home!

We have been 5 and half grown man to get this tank out of the restaurant. It was an adventure! To get it into my home we needed 8 young and strong man (we added the stand). I hope a possible buyer is aware (but somehow I don't care)

shifting is quite stressful for sure but you find the cool spot :)

No chance for this big thing... it has to go

Great ulog and the aquarium with coral reef looks great.

Sure it would have been a perfect look. But sadly it has to go :-(

Your heart is broken! I remember when you were telling me about your aquarium with so much passion.I am very sorry! :(

This is incredible

Congratulations @pollux.one! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Final results coming soon

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I never pictured you as the aquarium type. Not yet sure if I'll love to see fishes swimming around my house yet...

All the same, I know one thing:

Family is where you all are.

Everything happens for a reason

but knowing you sir, you will make this move one of the best things that ever came your way

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64777.26
ETH 3101.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84