Sort:  

One of the advantages to having someone that routinely looks your vehicle over. We have a tire change out twice a year, and the people I go to don't just change the tires and out and call it done. They take a look at the vehicle, Like your mechanic, I am sure they would catch anything that serious. They have let me know in the past that I needed new rear shocks, then on one vehicle that the front end ball joints needed replacing. Having a good crew can save lives.

The guys at this particular shop have been treating us right for a long time. They look over used cars for us so we don't buy a lemon. They even sold one of our old cars one time. I like knowing that my wife can go to them whenever I'm not around.

Posted using Partiko Android

It is nice having a local and independent place to go. Car Dealerships might have shops and things but they also have a lot of mechanic and help turn over. The shop I use may be a bit more than the box shop down and around the corner when it comes time to change out the tires, but to me totally worth it. Same with oil changes, I no Midas and the other box oil change store does a good job, but at the local shop they even re-fill the windshield washer for free, and top off the other fluids during the check. Trust is the real proof of service. Like you I trust the store I go to. Almost for 25 years now.

Ouch!! That could have been a fun ride if the leaf spring broke off. Scary to think how long that has been like that. One perfectly time bump, could have dislodged it from its position. Maybe the rust was trying to clear its name. I bet the rust played part it that piece holding there. Lol. What make and model is that? Wild guess..Chevy Silverado?

Here in WA we don’t have smog checks or inspections, at least in my town we don’t. I remember the smog checks on Cali, what a pain, more like an annoyance. My diesel truck was exempt due to its age so I could have some fun with it 😈

Posted using Partiko iOS

Good guess! It is a 1992 Chevy 1500 Silverado 2WD with the V6 and a 5-speed. It is pretty old but it only has 156000 miles on it.

Posted using Partiko Android

My 97 f350 diesel has almost that exact mileage 155,700, she is just getting broke in. It’s funny how just looking at the shape dash and steering wheel I came really close. A few of my friends had chevy’s around those years.

A quick look, and at Rockauto.com you can get a new leaf spring for around $150
https://www.rockauto.com/en/catalog/chevrolet,1992,c1500+pickup,4.3l+v6,1031263,suspension,leaf+spring,7544
I was just curious how much they cost. Lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

My mechanic guessed it would be twice that much. I didn't even take the time to look it up. The junk yard was on my way home. They said it would cost me $50 and they will do all the work of getting it out of the donor truck. No shipping to pay for, either.

Right on, you can’t beat that $50. I’m actually looking at doing something crazy with my truck. I’m wanting to install axles from an ‘05 to ‘07 f-250/350 under it. It would change my gear ratio from 4:10 to 3:73 also give me a better ride and WAY better steering, plus convert it to single rear wheel. Turning my truck is like turning a school bus...it sucks. I’m thinking about doing the same to my 2001 Excursion, but one thing at a time. I can get a complete set of axles with around 150k miles for about $2k then sell my old axles and I would almost break even. Mama-Splatts says... “whatever! When and where are you going to do this and with what money??” DAH HA HA HA

You want to convert a dually to a standard axle? That sounds like a huge job. I like working on my truck more than on my cars. There is no pressure to get stuff done fast because I don't drive it much.

Posted using Partiko Android

Ya, I know a guy that is really experienced at it. He swapped the front axle in his Excursion by himself and it took him about 6 hrs. The guy is crazy fast and good. 12 hours to pull a 7.3 power stroke diesel from his truck, tear it down to the block and rebuild and have it running. Let’s just say he has done it a time or 10. Lol.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Inspection is a good thing though here in bc it actually has little value. The yes you have to pass to get one which is quite expensive. Once you have it you can pull out on the street and the first cop you meet can inspect the vehicle hi and force you though the process again. Even though you have the sticker posted as required. Just the state /crown forcing expense on you.

I wish there was another way to make sure people only drove safe cars, but I can't think of how it could be done without the state.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey @professorbromide, Your post has been determined to be Splat-Worthy!! Therefore You’ve been Splatted by the Splatz Curation Trail
E4D5E914-6CE9-4EA4-950A-18B199BC20DE.gif
source
Rewarding Your Original Work
With an Upvote
And
Resteem
If you find posts worthy of a nasty Splatin’ feel free and mention @splatz in your reply to their post. Call me out!!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by professorbromide from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!

Hi @professorbromide!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.990 which ranks you at #3773 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 209 contributions, your post is ranked at #39.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62796.11
ETH 3045.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85