Sometimes a Simple Coat of Paint can Change the Feel of a Room | DIY Saturday Night

in #diy6 years ago

DIY Saturday Night

20180708_012701.jpg

So I had a pretty busy weekend. Friday I took the day off work and went up to my Cousins Lake House in Fox Lake Illinois. We went boating and tubing and rode waverunners all day. I was beat by the end of the day. Got home and wound up having some company over at the house who stayed the night.

My girlfriend and her brother and his fiance and I all woke up early Saturday, got some breakfast and went to the pool. Later in the afternoon they all decided they wanted to go to Summerfest in Milwaulkee. I was pretty beat so decided to stay home and relax. Well per usual I get kinda bored relaxing so decided to take on a DIY project.

I used to enjoy @emmyem84 and her DIY posts, she hasn't been around for a month or so so I figured I'd carry the torch and make some of these posts myself. It's amazing how just slapping a coat of paint on something can really change the look and feel of a room. In my living room we had a faux brick wall that was kind of an ugly red brick. My friend Joey's girlfriend had been telling me for a while I should paint it white. Well I happenned to have a can of "Moonshine" colored paint lying around and wasn't up to much so I smoked a bowl, put "The Departed" on Netflix and got to work. I first tried to wipe away as much dust and dirt off the bricks as I could. I got some painters tape and taped off the wood trim, and then I got started painting. This first picture below is really the only "before" picture I have. Here you can see the wall partially it's old color and partially painted...

20180707_213453.jpg

It didn't really take me that long to complete, maybe an hour topps. Had I had a paint roller it probably would have been quicker but I only had a little brush so had to brush paint the entire thing. The biggest headache was painting between the grout or mortar spaces, aside from that it was a piece of cake.

Overall really happy with how things turned out. Gives the whole room a much more light and airy feel.

20180708_085714.jpg

Sort:  

Paint is secnd best way to get more money for little price. Do you know the top idea?

Good choice and landscaping helps. Cleaning and decluttering. The difference between a house with a thorough cleaning between the light, odor, view of vacuumed carpets makes such a difference.

FYI: Not saying you need to clean your house. Just adding to the conversation of the post. :)

haha, I do need to clean my house though

Hey buddy, what area of the country are you in if you don't mind me asking? I'm looking at buying a place down in or around Charleston SC. Their real estate market has been going through the roof over the past couple years and even just in the past few months. One particular area I'm looking at is up like 22% on the year already. Some places have doubled in price from when I started looking a few years back.

Part of me thinks it's a bubble and not sustainable, however at the same time the nature of Charleston being swampy and stuff means there's only so much room to expand, you can't really have the same type of sprawl you have in other areas where things continue to expand out so part of me thinks this is just the new reality.

In addition to Charleston also looking at Wilmington NC and Tampa FL. Any thoughts?

It looks good. I have had my fill of painting things for about a year. I don't need to paint anything else for awhile.

Yeah I feel that. When I first moved in to my new place about a year ago I was tackling all these little home fixes and then got lazy for about a year so lately have been trying to pick one or two projects a week and slowly hammer away at some of this stuff

Now the sensation that produces to the room is of freshness, of total calm. The final result is quite clean and surely it was much better than it was before. It would have been great to be able to see the "before & after" of the painting, in order to do well the comparison. I imagine that you will continue retouching some areas of the house with paint, as lately.

A very productive weekend. Very good work, now the house looks more delicate 👍

Thank you @makesushi I was pleasantly surprised with how it turned out

Congratulations This post has been upvoted by SteemMakers. We are a community-based project that aims to support makers and DIYers on the blockchain in every way possible.

Join our Discord Channel to connect with us and nominate your own or somebody else's posts in our review channel.

Help us to reward you for making it ! Join our voting trail or delegate steem power to the community account.

Your post is also presented on the community website www.steemmakers.com where you can find other selected content.

If you like our work, please consider upvoting this comment to support the growth of our community. Thank you.

Photo Challange Bloms & Blossom of 8th-13th July. Participants’ Between (55)-(70) Reputation 1st Prize 5 SBD

In Spring, New Blooms and Blossoms start to appear

beautiful-black-and-white-bloom-414214.jpg
However, when shot in Black and White, you start to see the textures in the petals and it's this feature what this challenge is all about.

VOTING Counted after 1 Hour Post.
Partipiants Must be Between (55) to (70) Reputations

So, strictly Black and White and get in close to reveal the textural beauty of Spring!

Click Here to Participate

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73