Building with rocks again | My 1st Garden Spiral comes alive!

in #diy5 years ago

Sonething about spirals, aren't they so pretty?

20190607_165308.jpg

Steem line 2.png

Since moving to the forest, I've been refusing to buy any concrete blocks to buld any of the structures we have that require them... I mean we have rocks everywhere!

Use the rocks!

So here we go, as we do in this DiY world, we buikd things we need with what we have on hand... I guess it doesn't realky have to be all McGiver-like all the time, but hey that's my thing, I like the challenge!

We have a few store bought herbs waiting to be planted, so what better opportunity than now, to build a Herbs Spiral, I always wanted one since I've known of these.


I got some stones.

20190606_165049.jpg

Found the place I thought was good near our front door. Keeping it close, right near where we're going to cook. I love herbs in my cooking 😁.

20190606_161654.jpg

I laid some rocks where I thought the spiral should be. So you will read on the intra-webs that the spiral should ve laid clockwise in the northern hemisphere and counter-clockwise in the souther hemisphere. Well With the way the land is right in front of our door, it worked out much better to have it going counter-clockwise, going up!

Sometimes things work out the way they do because we want it to...!

After a couple hours (I have all this natural capital available all around this property), here's what it looks like:

20190606_194729.jpg

The next afternoon, I finished it off and even planted what we had. Oregano, coriander and basil. There will be more comong soon... there's a lot more space in there!

20190607_150958.jpg

QUOTE OF THE MONTH: @Oivas

Pursuit of happiness will only bring more opportunities to continue the pursuit;
Be happy and more of happiness will come..

(If you want your quote featured here, lookout for the next contest!)

THANK YOU FOR LOOKING, YOUR SUPPORT IS GREATLY APPRECIATED

Steem line 2.png

coop-logo-1.png

Join Us On Discord

If you want to know what really is inside this Coconut, take a look at my Humans Of Steemit.

And don't forget… Dreams Come True!

Sort:  

Very cool! I wonder if a board or more rocks at the bottom might keep the soil from washing away. Very interesting work!

Ah yes very interesting thought... I hadn't seen that. I THINK i will put more rocks there, why use a perfectly fine board when I have an abundance of rock capital 😁.

Thanks for the idea

You've been visited by @riverflows from Homesteaders Co-op.

Yay!!! That looks really cute!!! You should make heaps of them!


Homesteaders Co-op

A community marketplace of ethical, handmade and sustainable products available for STEEM, SBD (and USD): https://homesteaderscoop.com

follow: @homesteaderscoop

heehee thanks... but for now I'm moing on to the next project!

what an awesome idea and its really pretty. Very impressed!! WE are big gardeners and always looking for new ideas to spruce up our little yard. This gives me a lot of ideas. We have a lot of river bed around so pretty much all of the rocks are polished, maybe I could try using clay as a grout of sorts to keep the rocks from sliding off. looking forward to reading more of your posts. Now Following !!

Hey thank @DragonFart... awesome name, does fire come out that side too?

Yeah for sure you could build with round rocks, thoigh you may want to use some natural mixture with lime in it so it doesn't just wash away.

I'm glad you loked the post and thanks for the follow!

absolutely and yeah I was thinking of trying out my take on roman concrete...

I'm really appreciating the way you;re using what you have on hand, and on site. Having just seen a huge gaping sand mine this morning, may I commend you on your choice of no concrete? The finished spiral is really lovely BTW. Great job!


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.
Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.


@ecoTrain

Ah thank you so much. Yeah I'm trying to use as little concrete as possible for pur builds.

There's a massive hole accrosse the river from us, a big blie stone quarry! It really looks painful from a bird's eye view... though they kept the hill intact si from the river you would never know it's there, asides from the occasional earth shaking booms!!!

loving you herb spiral, I have been meaning to build one for ages, I did years ago when I done my permaculture design course xx

Oh yeah the old PDC... I should actually take one of them one day.

Thanks! Wifey doesn't know about it yet, she's been at her family's for the week and will be up on site in a couole days... shame I won't get to see her reaction, I'm bag in the Rat's Nest to work a few weeks!!!!

oh what a lovely surprise, she will be delighted. breath in all that wonderful wildness before you get back in the race xx hopefully you get to score some great wood again xx

I'm sure she will even though she wanted herbs to be right out our kitchen windows... I'll build a vox for that one day too I guess.

Hey before I forget, I wanted to tell you about our Transit van, she's near paris and runs strong... I will need to sell her this summer. No MOT tho. But if you know someone looking for a cheap converted van there it is.

dm me some info xxx

just found you on Discord xxx

Congratulations! I just stopped by to say that your post has been selected as a daily Featured Post of my personal curation project! You can find the daily Featured Post HERE.
I upvoted your contribution and I put it on the list because to my mind your post is what I call a quality content!
I am @miti, a manual curator that shall make available all his Steem Power to authors deserving of support. Let's make STEEM great again!
Have a nice day and keep up the good work!

I love building with rock. That spiral is a very cool idea. Upvoted and followed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88