Tiny House: Maximizing Space

in #diy6 years ago (edited)

I Look for Space Where Others Don’t

I’ve lived in small spaces most of my life, and when I ended up in New York City, it didn't change much! Even when I rented a pretty large loft, I built 5 bedrooms and filled the place with my friends, to the point where living with 9 people made the place feel small…!

Since I’ve been here I had wanted to become a professional Space Maximizer. You know, put out an ad online, print flyers and hustle to find clients who would be willing to hire me as their create more space in my tiny apartment consultant! This little entrepreneurial venture never got started, but I did continue to create more space wherever I lived.


And today as I was creating extra space in our kitchen I thought I could show you guys what I’m talking about and perhaps some of you may get inspired to do something similar.

I do not claim to have invented the following… I’m sure I’ve seen this somewhere else before and thought it was genius!

Here’s for freeing up your shelves or counter and how to do it:

The Tools and Ingredients

  • A screw driver or screw gun.
  • Small screws (make sure they are small enough so they won't stick out the other side of your cabinets!).
  • As many wide mouth jars as you have space for where you want them. (I've only used jars from our fridge or pantry, we aim for a zero waste household, whenever we can)
  • The same amount of lids as the jars you want to put up.

The DiY Recipe

  • Clean the jars you collected. An easy way to take the labels off is by soaking the jars in cold water for swveral hours (we usually let them soak over night).
  • Clean the jars again and dry completely.
  • Chose and mark the placement of your jars on the underside of your cabinet. I centered ours and spaced them four fingers apart in a straight line. (It's easier to do with the cap of the jar alone, by the way. Though if your jar is really massive, you may want to check it whole!)
  • Place the first cap on your first mark and screw it up into the cabinet. (It may help to start the first screw on a countertop or some kind of work surface, make sure you place a scrap piece of wood under the cap, the screw will go through!)
  • I think a minimum of three screws per cap is descent, and screw them in a triangle pattern (like the 3 points of an equilateral triangle). In my opignion, two screw may not be sturdy enough.

  • Repeat the process for the amaount of jars you have.
  • Fill your jars up with whatever you want, screw them up into the cap and Voilà!

For packages of specialty items and wild rice mixes, we cut the cooking directions off the box them came in and tape it onto the back of the jar for easy access!

I hope you liked this little DiY trick for saving space. It helped me a lot!

Untill next time...

Proof-of-new-undercounter-space!

Steem line 2.png

If you really want to know what is inside this Coconut, take a look at Humans Of Steemit.

QUOTE OF THE MONTH @senorcoconut
In the End, it Always works out
(If you want a quote of yours posted here for a month please tell me)

AS ALWAYS... THANK YOU FOR LOOKING, YOUR SUPPORT IS GREATLY APPRECIATED.
Up-Vote, Re-Steem and Reply. Your comments are very welcome! Don't forget… #DreamsComeTrue!

Sort:  

so Smart!! i love it!! smart chappie

Thank you @eco-alex! The first time I saw this was in an artist shop in Barcelona. He had screwed dozens of mason jars full of organized ramdom bits for his art material!

Truly genious for sure

This is a great use of space and an easy way to recycle those jars! I have a lot of matching honey jars that would look cute with this idea adapted to my craft and sewing area! <3

Also stopping by to say that you have been featured and curated for MSP Community Curation: Top Five 'Positive PAL Posts' - Week #20

https://steemit.com/community/@creativesoul/msp-community-curation-top-five-positive-pal-posts-week-20

POSITIVE-PAL-THUMBNAIL

Yes yes!! I had noticed something fishy about my higher than usual post upvotes!

Thank you so much for your kind words. The first time I saw these jars was in an artist's shop. He had all his tiny little bits of art material organized by jar like these in between the rafters of his work station. It's a great idea to use them for crafting and sewing areas for sure!

Happy to have inspired you and thank you so much for the curation!!! Going to check it out right now. 😁

Hehehe....fishy is about right. Thank you for the inspiration! <3

Us little anchovies have to make oceanic jokes sometimes, surrounded by whales and all on the blockchain!

Thanks again!

I love this idea. I would go with mason jars and standard lids that fit them, so if I broke a jar, and I would break a jar, I could grab another mason jar to fit into the installed lid.

LOL...

if I broke a jar, and I would break a jar

That is a great idea with the mason jars actually, I just did't think about changing the lids to regular ones that fit... And I like the look of them too, with the measurments and all that.

Thanks for the idea. Now that we have a new Tiny Home I can get to work on that in there!

YES!! For every day herbs, seasonings, etc this would be perfect!
You're the perfect handyman!

Haha thank you @goldendawne! My "job" makes me a bit of a McGiver type... Herbs would be great, dried ones though right?

I've seen these in converted camper vans before and they hold the road!

That's a great idea!
I have thought about doing that in the shed for the nails, screws, bolt, nuts, etc but I never thought of it in the house..looks good! :)

Thank you,
A neighbor has some 1 gallon jars hanging from a small kitchen countertop. It looks goos with granola and other cereals!

Bolts and little bits of hardware, is basically how I got the idea, from an artist's shop!

This post has been rewarded with 30% upvote from @indiaunited-bot account. We are happy to have you as one of the valuable member of the community.

If you would like to delegate to @IndiaUnited you can do so by clicking on the following links: 5SP, 10SP, 15SP, 20SP 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

That looks handy, and so easy to put in place. Love it 🤩!

Thanks, yeah super easy and you can play with different sizes if you want to also.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by SenorCoconut from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Love love. We did a similiar thing in a bus we lived in once.

Oh my god I hear you. I would love to be paid to oragnise peoples tiny spaces.. its my forte. Problem is i live in australia and everyone has massive homes lol.

Same in the US, once you leave New York City everyone has massive homes too...

I'd love to see phoyos of the old bus if you have em, one day. I love live-in vehicles.

I've got a few posts on live ins deep in my feed. I might resurrect them as zombie posts.

Ooh that would be awesome to see. Lol on the zombie posts thing! English live ims have really been the ones that have impressed me the most so far. Especially those old horse box trucks... beautiful on the oitside and inside!

There's also a couple in New Zealand who built a truck that unfolds intoba little castle looking thing, very cool!

Cheers

The horse boxes were the best. We used to have one, a Bedford TK, pretty simple on the inside and the only photos I have are after we cleared her out. I will share it again though and tag you in it, maybe when I'm having a 'can't be fucked coming up with some new' day on Steemit. xx

Haha yea I like it. Sounds good. Have you seen these fellas videos:

Pretty wicked builds, catching water and all!

Yeah that's the same model we had!!! Except we didn't have the wooden box, which was unaffordable for us at the time - it was a few years back now before the whole live in thing took off. Damn that one is PRETTY A.F. The back door is gorgeous - clearly it's summer and they have a permanent park up. The door is beautiful. When we built ours, we had absolutely no cash or materials, and we were on a rush to move out of our house and onto site (kinda like a squat park up) - would have loved to have done her up properly. My kid slept in the luton above and we had a raised bed set up in the lounge kinda area, big wood burner etc. Absolutely loved it. We sold her to crew in Devon and then it got sold on again - somehow found the guy who bought her and he loved her and took her to Ireland. He had a fire in her and had to pull out cladding and stuff to clean it up and found the J+K we'd painted underneath it (Jamie and Kylie) which was so cute. He was wondering what it meant and who that was. Jeez their wetroom is good - we never had one of those lol. Took up too much room and we didn't want the damp in the truck in the winter. We shat in the field - good old shovel. Pretty damn cold in winter doing that I tell you!!

Here's one view of her parked up in a field in Dorset, we were lucky to stay on a private estate for a bit which was sweet. Right by a trout chalk stream. They were the days, that's for sure.

trigon tagine.jpg

And having a carbon monoxide alarm is a good idea - we had one and you'd be mad not to.

She is a beauty! I know all about caravan site, permanent ones and not... lots of family lived the site life, none went to school! How long were ypu in Bitain? You may know some of em. Rough life but free life... yea that rig is lovely, shaky camera work though (must be the english triple cheese!). That lot have some excellent carpentry skills!

Good old gypsy shits... thank god for shovels! When you gotta go you gotta go.

You ever run into the Mutoid Waste Company? Mostly from London but you know travelers... they have a permanent park up in Itali sonewhere. Good art, One Eyed Same usually runs the Unfair Grounds at Glastonbury... just next to the traveler fields of course!

Cheers, Love your old live in. Thanks for showing it 😁

Beautiful story by the way!

efficient and beautiful

Haha thanks! Yeah I thought it was pretty too

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04