My Portfolio #1 Owl Sculpture

in #dlike6 years ago (edited)

share-with-dlike.jpg

I will be uploading photos from my portfolio of art woodcarvings, sculptures and items of furniture I have made over the years.
This one is an owl which I sculpted from a solid block of limewood using mainly hand chisels.

It stands at 18" tall.

I made this purely because I wanted to but I sold it quite quickly to a client.

I researched the owl from photos and when I had found the right pose I had to 'fill in the gaps' in order to create a three dimensional piece.

I went into great detail on the feathers and the ivy on the base which was very time consuming but I was pleased with the results.

Thanks,

@jist


Source of shared Link

Sort:  

@woodworkcurators is a daily curation service for the woodworking community.

woodlogo2.png

You can read about us here

WIn SBD in our Weekly Woodworking post Competition

We have a woodworking community here on steemit and would welcome you. We have a discord channel, link here: Woodworking on Steem Discord Channel

@jist you are great wooden artist.

Thank you very much

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78