SCAM ALERT: SMS Phishing Hustle Redirects Users To False Coinbase Site

in #dlike6 years ago

share-with-dlike.jpg

Oh, fun. My little heads up today in the Metacert Slack got turned into a medium story. Stay safe people. If you don't already have Cryptonite installed, get it done: https://metacertprotocol.com/cryptonite


Source of shared Link

Sort:  

Ruh oh. I meant to share this link from my @lukes.random account but logged in with the wrong Steemconnect account accidentally. If you autovoted for this, please feel free to remove your vote or to flag it down to adjust the rewards. Otherwise I'll just decline payouts on tomorrow's exchange transfer report which I do each week.

I know DLike is a controversial new platform as I had a long (multi-hour?) conversation in PAL Discord the other day about it. I think it's fine for my social account where I often share links and such and don't have any automated votes supporting it (that I know of), but I didn't plan to use it on this account.

Luke, just chill bro... You deserve the STEEM (;

I'm chill. Thanks though. ;)

One of the biggest problems I see with Steem/Steemit is not enough people thinking about value creation over wealth extraction. I think about this often. I wish more people did also.

Good information

Oh joy... thanks for the heads-up! As cryptos become more and more mainstream, I guess we can expect things like this to become as commonplace as PayPal phishing scams...

Not sure what to think of dlike. Seems like an invitation to send massive amounts of spam to the blockchain... but reserving judgment.

Yeah, that's basically what the whole conversation was about in Discord. Here's part of my reply to the person who reached out to me about it:

I think it's an interesting aspect of any social media platform to share content socially. The STEEM blockchain itself will be used in many different ways. Memes, shares, original content, videos, live streams... who knows what else. If someone is abusing the rewards pool and not adding value, then a flag is the right way to handle it. I do think link shares can provide great value to the community. Example: https://steemit.com/psychology/@lukestokes/a-comprehensive-guide-to-cognitive-biases

That was essentially a link share. That's how I see DLink. It can be used to add value to the network. Those who don't use it to add value should get downvoted.

But I don't think we can decide what the Steem blockchain is for and what it's not for. It's an open blockchain for anyone to use. The problem isn't so much with how it's used (we all get bandwidth) but in how the rewards pool is distributed, yes? If any interface or content approach takes more out of the reward pool in ways the community doesn't like, the correct action is a downvote. We need more people downvoting. I don't think a tool itself like this is immediately bad. I think it can provide value. It's up to the token holder voters to decide if it gets rewarded with votes or not.

I'm not a fan of the labor theory of value. I don't think value has to be created only through effort or labor. Value is a dynamic story we tell ourselves based on context. It's constantly changing. Is there a time and place I could discuss this with the minnow support community? I'd love to get more perspectives on it.

That led to a really fun conversation with a number of minnow support mods. The funny thing is, during that conversation, I said if I shared a link and it took a bunch of rewards, I might flag it myself to bring the rewards down. In this particular case, I kind of think the information is really valuable though. My plan is just to decline rewards on my next post, so it's kind of the same thing, I guess.

I agree, we don't get to decide what social media is. There's a place in the world for things like Pinterest and social curation sites like Scoop.it and stumbleupon (now "mix"). There's a place in the world for memes, animated gifs and all manners of other things.

Dlink could totally add value, if used "responsibly."

Therein lies the rub... pretty much anything can be used responsibly... or compulsively, to try to extract every possible drop of rewards. It's like the old "spoons don't make you fat" dilemma. Of course they don't. Eating two pounds of pudding for desert every night is what makes you fat.

Obsessively posting 300 links a day in search of rewards is what creates spam. Or potentially creates spam. I'm not a slave to work=value, either... I'm more oriented towards the approach Google took back in 2011 when they rolled out the "Panda" initiative to put the lid on search spam: Maximize user enjoyment of the web experience.

Thanks! Can never be too safe! I downloaded it already and it is pretty seamless.

thanks to sir for inform..

Thanks...just now done that.

always good to know about this things :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02