Why We Are Poor - A Dlike Contest For Book Covers Entry

in #dlike6 years ago (edited)

share-with-dlike.jpg

I took this picture a week ago when I passed by a bookstore. Looking at the picture, one probably won't find it attractive or anything. I do find it attractive, in fact, I took a picture to remind me I need to save money to buy it. It's a compilation of essays of one of my favorite authors way back in college, F. Sionil Jose. I have read his novels which were about the era when our country was in great crisis back when I was not even born. I have read a lot of stuff about our country's history from his books more than the history books I have read since grade school.

 

The book is so simple and it does not even have a picture, just texts. I can't even define the color of it. But what makes me like it is the title, it's thought provoking. Also, the phrase next to the title speaks to me in volumes. I think I know what it wants to say but I can't be too sure unless I really read it. "Termites in the Sala, Heroes in the Attic," I think it's about the kind of countrymen we have. The people who are worthy to run the government and can make reforms and good changes are not stepping up, rather they hide in the attics and the people who are confident to be in charge are like termites and are good at whatever termites do. I could be wrong in what I think that phrase is about, but soon, I would know when I buy it. LOL


Source of shared Link

Sort:  

I came because the Title intrigued me too :)
So I went to check what Sala means, and now I know it is a meeting place of sorts, open pavilion....
I think what your are thinking makes sense....
I'll look out for what it means by author when you buy it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64777.26
ETH 3101.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84