Meera Sodha’s recipe for Ethiopian Easter bread | The new vegan | Food | The Guardian

in #dlike5 years ago (edited)

"Defo dabo is the traditional fennel and orange bread, neither too sweet nor too savoury, to share with friends and family at this time of year"

I was wondering how to extend my breadbaking this week. I have the regular wholewheat sandwich loaf going on in the background and some torn chunks of challah in the freezer, ready to impress visitors. But what new thing was I going to try?

I had been toying with flatbreads. There's a nice recipe in the Nigel Slater Kitchen Diaries that I bought from one of the charity shops.

Then I discovered that Nigel really rates Paul Hollywood's recipe, where the bread is cooked on a hot surface, probably cast iron, rather than baked in the oven.

Nigel's recipe has some nice fillings for stuffed flatbreads - ripe figs and soft blue cheese, roast aubergine olive oil and thyme, mozzarella or olive paste, fried mushrooms.

Or with lamb, chilli and watermelon or tomato and avocado accompaniments. Or torn up and put in a salad with juicy tomatoes, chunky peeled cucumber, coriander and oregano, with a topping of natural yoghurt or labneh.

But then I came across this lovely vegan recipe for Ethiopian Easter bread, with spices and orange. It sounds glorious! I'm going to use maple syrup instead of the brown rice syrup, though, and soft Doves Farm strong wholemeal bread flour.


Source of shared Link

Sort:  

I'm always up for trying something vegan related, Nigel's recipe's especially the ripe fig one sounds good.

Like a nodding dog in the rear view window :)

I eat so little bread these days but that loaf looks wonderful. It wouldn't be vegan after I was done with it though. I find that grains are so much better digested with some pastured butter to go along with it. Weird little life hack I stumbled upon when I cheated on a low carb diet. The bread looked so good and I just had to have some. I smothered it with butter and there were no deleterious effects and I was satisfied with a lot less. I wonder if the development of gluten allergies have arisen from our switch from animal fats to vegetable fats ... which to our bodies are completely alien ... or worse no fat at all. Fats are so essential for the absorption of so many nutrients.

I agree - I love butter (and cheese, it has to be said).
There's definitely a nutrition problem about lack of fats and fatty acids.
Although I thought this loaf looked soft and moist enough to eat (at least on the first day) with no spread.
But maybe not :)

I was vegan ... years ago. I do remember with the use of vegetable oils, cakes and bread could be quite moist. But I would not eat like that now. Perhaps the only oil I might try to bake with would be olive oil or coconut oil. But butter really can take baking to a new level. You can't beat a buttery croissant:):):)

So true!
I haven't tried croissants yet ...

Delicious baked bread

Hi @michelnilles, thanks for dropping by. I would have given you an upvote, but I see you have already voted for yourself.

You see, that sort of passive admonishment is far too subtle for me. I'd have been all-out trying to earn a Drama Token ;-)
For my own personal tastes, I find flatbreads a little too 'dense'. I definitely lean more towards the airy ciabatta style consistencies but will look forward to seeing pictures of yours.

Commercial flatbreads do tend to be a little dense, I agree, but I've had some nice ones in restaurants. Ciabatta can be quite chewy, I've found. It's all an exciting journey, though :)

Sounds tasty.

I'm hoping so :)

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77