Rent Almost Anything | Fat Llama

in #dlike5 years ago (edited)

share-with-dlike.jpg

"Fat Llama - the rental site for your stuff."

"Rent your belongings and earn extra income, or borrow items and save money."

I was looking for a lawnmower and discovered I could borrow anything from a drone to a camper van to a camera to evening dress. Interestingly, you can also earn an income by lending your things. Prices to borrow (?) vary from ridiculously cheap to wildly expensive. But I liked the idea of making things that I have and store but don't use very much available to others.

In the past thirty days, the top lender has made 100 rentals and earned £5,579. As a comparison, number 10 on the leaderboard made 43 loans and earned £1,664.

Lenders and borrowers are verified, and your items are insured:

"We work hard to keep the Fat Llama community a safe place to lend. However, if for any reason your item is lost, stolen or damaged we have got you covered. When you lend on Fat Llama every item is covered by our guarantee up to £25,000 and our 24/7 customer support are always on call if you need any instant advice."

There are apps available in Apple and Google Play Store.


Source of shared Link

Sort:  

At first I thought your title said you rented a Fat llama lol, anyway this is really interesting. I have heard of sites like this before but this one seems really well organised and up to date, I might see if I got anything I could lend, thanks @shanibeer.

Hehe 😊 Let me know how you get on if you decide to try it 😊

Wow. This looks really interesting @shanibeer. Thanks for the heads up. That's decent money those top lenders are making. 😊

I'm going to take a look.

I thought it might interest a few Steemians 😊
The top lenders do have some wonderful equipment, it has to be said!
Let me know if you try it.

I will. I just looked at it quickly and noticed people are looking for a couple of things I have . . the travel cot and my silhouette machine. The latter might be a good one because it sits here doing nothing and, before I bought it, I'd love to have been able to borrow one. In fact if I had been able to I probably wouldn't have bought it. 😁

What an interesting idea! I'm not aware of anything like that around here (US) but I'd certainly be interested. There are a lot of high cost items that you buy because you need it for the moment, then don't use it again. It would benefit both sides of the transaction to be able to rent something. And it's insured too! Wow.

There's also a feedback system, too, so lenders and borrowers build their reputation over time, just like airbnb, ebay, amazon etc. I was thinking about gardening tools - even my wellingtons! - and my sewing machine. Some of the things on offer are amazing!

Wow. So is this an actual brick and mortar store where you take you items or rent your items? Or is it an online thing and you make the arrangements for pickup/delivery between the two parties?

It's an online thing - you browse for what you are looking for in your surrounding area and then it is organised between the borrower and the lender. I was looking for one or two things earlier - none were in my immediate neighbourhood, but some were near enough to make it worthwhile travelling a short distance.

I've never heard of this but what a brilliant idea! Of course it won't be long before the HRMC are on the backs of the lenders but it's such a good idea and may reduce consumption if people borrow instead of buy!
Great share and I trust you're having a lovely weekend :-)

Posted using Partiko Android

I thought it was a bit fab :) A great way to re-use etc!
I'm having a lovely weekend, thanks, weather is beautiful, mild and sunny, a bit breezy which I like. Hope you're having a lovely time, too, I'm enjoying your postcards :)

Ahhh thank-you. I'm just trying to post some everyday real life that someone, somewhere may find mildly interesting as opposed to the usual touristy stuff.
Sounds almost like gardening weather there! And best wishes with the Steem camp, I'm so proud of you as co-host! I truly hope you get a good turnout. I saw the pictures from the last event which looked really nice, friendly and manageable!
Hope the lovely weekend continues :-)

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66407.27
ETH 3219.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34