Sweet and Spicy Roasted Moroccan Carrots

in #dlike5 years ago (edited)


Source

I've been stockpiling carrots from my organic veg box deliveries for weeks and they were threatening to take over the fridge (plus another delivery is due this week).

Last week while I was out and about I'd bought a tasty Moroccan lunch box for £6 from a street food stall outside Kings Cross station. It had included a stuffed flatbread and two types of salad ... one of them was this delicious sweet spicy carrot dish.

So I had a hunt round on the Internet and came up with this recipe - which I prefer because the carrots are caramelised in a very hot oven first before adding them to the dressing. I like the brown sticky bits as well :)

The carrots are paired with simple brown or Puy lentils and some yoghurt in this recipe. I had them on top of a thick leek and potato soup, and I was thinking they'd be good to have in the fridge to snack on or add a spoonful to a dish as a side.

However, they didn't last that long - they didn't even last long enough to take a photograph! I made the dressing with cranberry juice rather than orange juice, and I think it would also be nice with pomegranate molasses. You could add pine nuts and soak a few sultanas in the orange juice before adding the carrots.


Source of shared Link

Sort:  

A fridge full of carrots = caramelised carrots, sounds like a lovely recipe good find @shanibeer I do like the sound of that dressing.

I've been feeling guilty about those carrots - they're all organically grown and ethically sourced and here they are just sitting in my fridge, unloved! I don't know why I've taken against carrots, possibly because they turn up in every box, and I'm not a great lover of carrot cake or carrot and coriander soup. I had a similar problem last summer with lettuces and salads leaves hehe.

Those poor carrots, I'm surprised to hear you don't like carrot cake, just carrot soup on it's own with a slice of bread is nice, you could grate them like that you have many options, can use them in salads or with couscous, maybe a smoothie.

Bimey that looks delicious! I'm down in the city tomorrow and may have an hour or so to spare in the evening so may have to go walkabout for my dinner :)

It was very, very nice. I thought I was stuck with those carrots forever. It's amazing what the right recipe can do. Enjoy your supper :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

@shanibeer, it seems to me that your meal was quite delicious. It is time for me to go to have lunch.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70839.13
ETH 3563.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77