‘Veggie discs’ to replace veggie burgers in EU crackdown on food labels | World news | The Guardian

in #dlike5 years ago (edited)

"Vegetarian food producers must revise names if MEPs agree new rules to protect meat terms."

I think I ate a vegetarian burger this week without realising. I'd been in a meeting talking about hard stuff (that's right, Steem was part of the conversation), and we had another meeting talking about hard stuff coming up in the afternoon.

I had arranged, I thought, a nice, relaxed sandwich lunch for everyone at the morning meeting, so we were sustained and could move, effortlessly and without stress, to our demanding afternoon meeting.

Unfortunately, due to an administrative error, probably mine, that didn't happen and we dashed out to forage at lunchtime.

I was heading for the independent cafe next to Caledonian Road Underground station, they do an excellent omelette and chips with salad; or towards the Cally Cafe, a greasy spoon with a fine line in doorstop bacon sandwiches with brown sauce and a side of chips.

When we got outside, my colleague start walking off, with purpose, in the opposite direction. It turned out there was a pub down there, set back from the road, so I'd never noticed it before, and it did lunch.

We were told that burgers were the fastest thing on the menu, not that there were many people in there, and we had hardly sat down and shared stories about our various morning long-distance journeys into town, when the food arrived.

The burger was a little tower of multi-colour goodness, crowned by a shiny domed brioche bun. There were greens and reds and yellows and a curious orange coleslaw. There might have cheese ... I'm not sure I would have known in that mass.

The burger was thick and sumptuous and tasty. I'd just ordered what the others were having, so I'm not sure whether it was meat or jackfruit. But that tells you something :)

Couldn't say much for the chips, though. The worst kind of frozen chips, boring and in need of ketchup to add some life to them. Luckily, I didn't have time to eat many of them, just wolfed half a burger, wrapped the other half in my napkin and dashed to the next meeting.


Source of shared Link

Sort:  

I say whatever it takes to see more movement towards having better animal welfare in the world @shanibeer.

👍😎💕

I bet the lawyers had fun with the semantics of this one. Getting paid as a lawyer to argue this is on the same level as Jarndyce and Jarndyce.

Not sure about 'discs' though, doesn't thrill me. 'Burger' gives me a clue about what kind of experience I'm going for/avoiding.

Well if you cant tell by taste, who really cares lol!!

I went on a walking holiday with my boyfriend once, when I was going through a vegetarian phase. The hosts made special dishes for us ... which everyone else ate!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

!sbi status

Hi @shanibeer!

  • you have 261 units and 1500 bonus units
  • your rshares balance is 13181921109859 or 8.294 $
  • your next SBI upvote is predicted to be 1.659 $

Structure of your total SBI vote value:

  • 22.21 % has come from your subscription level
  • 59.51 % has come from your bonus units
  • 17.32 % has come from upvoting rewards
  • 0.96 % has come from new account bonus or extra value from pre-automation rewards


    To reduce blockchain clutter, you can also check your status in our Discord server!
    https://discord.gg/VpghTRz

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66384.36
ETH 3272.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27