Weku - Another SteemIt Clone Or A Scam?

in #dlike6 years ago

share-with-dlike.jpg

Earlier this week I got an invitation to join yet another social platform that rewards its users: WEKU.

 

The Weku platform looks exactly like the SteemIt platform and after I've done a quick read through the FAQ, it also seems to work exactly like SteemIt. They even have their own witnesses and even WEKUCleaners, which are described as

 

a group of WEKUians concerned with plagiarism, copy/paste, spam, scams and other forms of abuse on WEKU

 

However, any information about the token and its value seems to be left out of the FAQ, while the main website https://weku.io/ won't open, neither does the link to their whitepaper.

 

This raises more than one question for me.

 

Is this another attempt to create a decentralized, Blockchain based social platform that will reward its users, or are we looking at something else here?

 

 


Source of shared Link

Sort:  

I have also just heard of WEKU not long ago. I think it is just a rip-off and I doubt it is even running on a blockchain. Knowing that people like to reuse passwords and keys, I will caution everyone who is onboard WEKU to not use the same key as they are using on Steemit. It maybe an elaborated scheme to harvest Steemit keys.

Posted using Partiko Android

It's especially the fact that the main website and whitepaper are not available that makes me frown my eyebrows...

Yes it's a copycat of steemit. and since it's easy to register now many are creating a multiple accts

I did a quick search and the token seems to exist. There are exactly 4 token holders at the moment. I might be completely wrong, but it all feels kind of strange to me

@simplymike, seems to me we may be starting to see "copycat fever" take over fairly soon.

People see Steemit and think "we can copy that and make a quick buck," not knowing the many thousands of work-hours that actually go into something like this. So these sites will pop up, skim off a layer of the most greedy "money for nothing seekers" and then disappear quietly in a few months...seen this sort of things happen dozens of times to "rewards for content" sites back before we had blockchain tech.

=^..^=

They are really popping up everywhere, aren't they?! It's impossible to keepup. Some look fairly decent, though, but Weku and that steemit clone from Kryptonia I discovered today make me wonder...

Gut feeling says Scam

Mine too... but what if it isn't? (FOMO popping up, lol)

I'm still investigating this myself. Wish they would have just done an airdrop into the steemit community to protect usernames and other things, and wondering about potential IP laws that may or may not apply.

Not sure what'll become of it, but I'm checking it out myself.

So am I.
Apparently the token exists: there are exactly 4 tokenholders at the moment.

Doing an airdrop for SteemIt members would have been a logical step, but apparently they have other plans.
It's all a bit vague, I think.
I still can't get access to the main site nor the whitepaper, so the fact that they are not online was not just a temporary glitch in their system...

Whitepaper loads up fine for me.

So maybe it was a temporary glitch after all. I'll check once I get access to my laptop.

Maybe one day they will figure out how to send the confirmation text then a person can see 😆

Somebody (I can't remember who) commented that they want to be Steemit without the bots and votebuying. Whoever started this should be open and honest about it. If they are witnesses here, I will immediately remove my vote. If they are doing nothing wrong, why not tell us who is behind it?

Apparently it's all only guesswork for now...

howdy there simplymike! I'm glad you did this post because I've been hearing about this but my question is what is the crypto like? does it have any potential and who would spend time there building it if they don't know if the crypto has a chance?

Hi @janton, I did some research and the token actually exists. All of them are in the hands of 4 people at the moment (See proof here.
Meanwhile, the main website is back online, and the second round of the airdrop is live (https://weku.io/).

I guess that's how steemIt, and all the other platform, like Minds, and Ono etc started too: without any idea whether the token would be worth something in the future or not...

howdy there simplymike! oh well that makes sense yes. Well I'm sure there will be tons of information about them in the coming months, you're in right? so you'll do posts on them.

I probably will. But why don't you check it out yourself. You can simply crosspost your SteemIt articles there: there's no need to write new content.
I'm not engaging in the community there, however - I can hardly keep.up with SteemIt:0)

howdy this fine Sunday simplymike! well that sounds like a great suggestion and I can hardly keep up with the engagement either! lol.

From what I can tell Weku is a fork of the Steemit source. You can even download the source yourself here and make your own fork. I'm primarily hoping Weku isn't a farce because I missed Steemit's initial launch because I thought it was nothing more than a forum for cryptocurrency circle jerking.

I hope you are right. Still, there are quite a couple of things that bother me about it...

Likewise, but from what I gathered from some Steemit veterans, Steemit started out very similarly in regards to seeming shady as hell. I'd go ahead and at least cross post. The worst that happens is you wasted your time on a scam. The best case scenario, you end up becoming a whale on a newer platform do to being involved early.

I was actually already way ahead of you, lol. Have my first post up there already. No new stuff, just some old steemIt posts :0)
If this turns out to be legit in the end, we might be the ones setting the rules ;0)

Might be, just saying though that cross posting doesn't hurt.

Congratulations @simplymike! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89