Introduction and Analysis of dlike: The Best Place to Share knowledge & Information on Blockchain (With Some Suggestions and Criticism)

in #dlike6 years ago

I love it when something comes together the way I wish it would even without having me to call the shots or develop the project. @dlike is one such project that I was wishing to see on STEEM blockchain and somebody (@certseek) actually fullfilled my wish and I made my very first post o @dlike today to try out the product before writing about it. You can read it here.

My Original Idea: ShareSTEEM

The biggest problem when it comes to curating amazing and valuable content is that steemit or other STEEM front ends are not the only places where great content is created. Article re-writes is just a waste of lot of time that can be used for creating new content or just consume content. That's why we need to have efficient methods for curating content that are not created by STEEM account holders.

Some might call this lacking in "Proof of Brain" or just lazy or a way to game the system. I've always considered that systems cannot be perfect; only individuals can. So there will always be some attempts at abuse. but the focus should be on the vision for a great end. Why do we even need steemit? Why bother visiting blogs and reading magazines?

We Need To Effectively Share knowledge & Information

This should be the vision and objective of STEEM. Printing press ushered in a new era and STEEM should become a Gutenberg 2.0 which can almost act like an online knowledge hub that is technically censorship free and sustainable. Posts on STEEM should be shared (not plagiarized) across other platforms and the content pf those platforms should be shared among the steemians. Don't be close minded and don'think short term. Think about making the big picture better; not just the price of STEEM or short term PR/Image or appealing to certain ideologies (often coming from early adopters) which may or may not have merit.

It Started With Parley

Almost 4 months ago Parley was released and I've been having a great time with it. I wrote a post about it and offered some criticisms and suggestions. What I love the most about @dlike is that it takes care of the biggest problem I had with Parley.

Sometimes I have things to add to the original content. Sometimes I have points that I disagree with. Reddit allows me to add my own thoughts on something I share and Parley doesn't. IMHO everything else regarding the development can wait, but the ability to write down personal thoughts is paramount for a platform that is made to spark good discussion in the comments section. Of course I can put a comment below and express my thoughts. But how do I know that my comments is going to be on top? Also there is the need for a self-upvote on the comment to ensure visibility.

My Solutions Were

1)Add a "Comments" portion with a limited word count. I think 512-2048 range is optimal. Community should gather around and figure out a an exact number.
2)The other option is giving the poster the ability to pin a comment on top. But I don't know any easy way to accomplish this as STEEM blockchain doesn't support such actions at the protocol level.

dlike: My Current Favorite Place To Share

@dlike really does take Parley to the next level. I haven'tested how long I can make my personal inputs be. But it seems like i can discuss/write my personal thoughts/criticisms about what I share and why it is important which I think is vital to curation. Even a bot could share some links. Adding thoughts and making the consumption of the original content even more valuable makes sure that there are even more reasons to recognize link sharing as "Proof of Brain".

I can also use multiple tags which is really helpful for more complex articles that explore multiple topics. The UI/UX is decent It's not heavenly awesome. But it manages to be very functional and pleasant experience for something that is built by a single person for a significant extent. Great work @certseek

Constructive Criticism

I'd like to see more emphasis given o the comment section. Parley mimics Reddit and give lots of space to continue a great discussion. The https://dlike.io interface isn't all that inviting for a deep discussion in the comments. Most of e time I just reply on steemit. So it's not a major issue. But sharing thoughts about something can a times be even more important than what is being shared.

I like the 3 SBD payout limit. But I still don't think it is ideal. I think 3 SBD is fair for most cases. But what if a person shares something that a great many find to be extremely valuable/ What about some viral shares? They are rare, but they certainly are the best kind of explosive experiences. So i'd like to see some alternative reward distributions explored. I'm no programmer so I don't know how hard or easy it would be to implement. But diminishing rewards for upvotes after a certain point of earnings can be great. Non-linear rewards can keep abuse in check and high or non-existent upper limits can create some memorable pleasant surprises (or some people trying hard and loosing lot of money to promote/advertise content which would be self regulated due to the depletion of funds)

The interface looks a little too flag happy. The flag button is too close to the upvote button. We have a lot more content that deserve upvotes compared to downvotes. There is also a chance that people would accidentally click flags instead of likes or vise versa.

I'm pretty happy with everything else. It's great to see new projects being on top of STEEM and it's even cooler when I ave already made posts asking for the kind of project that is being built.

Congratulations & Best of Luck To The @dlike Team! Happy Steeming Everybody!

Sort:  

So this is basically like a fb share, but you can get upvoted on it, just like someone can like your share on fb? ... I kinda didn't realize this was missing from steemit until now!

It's exactly that. Parley originally took care of the need. But @dlike does a better job becuase you can add multiple tags and most importantly, a commentary.

Free Upvotes
cooltext292615989443333.png
ENJOY !

This post was upvoted and resteemed by @resteemr!
Thank you for using @resteemr.


@resteemr is a low price resteem service.
Check what @resteemr can do for you. Introduction of resteemr.

Resteemed upvoted

Thank you for posting about dlike, you are awesome!
Be among the earliest members on our discord server

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Check @resteembot's introduction post or the other great posts I already resteemed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29