Isaac Asimov: How to Learn Like Nobody Else

in #dlike6 years ago

share-with-dlike.jpg

Many tend to think of being educated as something that has to do with the number of years of schooling we have or the degrees we earn. Asimov did indeed meet those criteria, but his real education was broader than that. It was deeper than what he learned from instruction.

In fact, this real education is what added to the subtle depth of his fiction, and perhaps more importantly, it’s what allowed him to reliably write about so many diverse, interesting topics. Fortunately, exploring his story, we can dissect precisely how he did that.

 

If you look close enough, you will realize that books like Tolstoy’s War and Peace tell you more about history than most history books. Likewise, you can better understand human psychology reading Dostoevsky’s masterpieces than you can pop-psychology best-sellers.

 

Great teachers have to think with a profound level of clarity. They have to strip away the crutches of big words and existing frameworks to break something down to a level at which it becomes obvious; simple, even. It’s at this level that knowledge is truly understood.

Even when writing his books, he would nudge the topic just outside the peripheries of his existing understanding of the world. From there, he would be incentivized to learn as much about it and to think as clearly about it as he could before getting a start on the project.

It’s often said that the best way to learn or to be educated is to teach, and there is a truth to that because teaching forces you to dig down to a core understanding that many neglect.


Source of shared Link

Sort:  

I totally love Isaac Asimov! my favorite author ever. Write about his books!

I'll try. But no guarantees. Try this for the time being:

If you have Netflix try this. It's not a masterpiece but it is good.

I, robot. Yes, I loved since I read it the first time, so so long ago.

I, robot is just a tiny part of a book called Robots (correct me if I'm wrong) I think another one, very good is Sally. In the same book.

I have enjoyed reading science fiction since I was a child. And now, I enjoy seeing almost all of them in movies, just magical to me. ;)

Have a blessed day, this brings me some good memories.

I only knew about this book: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/I%2C_Robot
The movie basically just take inspiration and do its own thing like how MCU is building there story.

I've also been a huge fan of Sci-fi since I was a child. I've also loved the old proto-science fictions like Frankenstein, Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde and also the more supernatural ones like Dracula and obviously I loved the Sherlock stories and Jules Verne.

Glad to come across you on the blockchain. BTW are you a fan of anime?
https://steemit.com/akibasteem/@vimukthi/defining-anime-with-asmvs

I, Robot
I, Robot is a fixup novel of science fiction short stories or essays by American writer Isaac Asimov. The stories originally appeared in the American magazines Super Science Stories and Astounding Science Fiction between 1940 and 1950 and were then compiled into a book for stand-alone publication by Gnome Press in 1950, in an initial edition of 5,000 copies. The stories are woven together by a framing narrative in which the fictional Dr. Susan Calvin tells each story to a reporter (who serves as the narrator) in the 21st century.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61388.48
ETH 2984.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65