Renegades Bought a Trailer: Here's Why

in #dlive6 years ago (edited)

Thumbnail

In this video, I discuss why Aimee and I decided to buy a utility trailer and why we think it makes good financial sense.

 
Trailer

With my old truck out of commission, we needed a way to haul larger materials without breaking the bank or burdening friends and family. This trailer, towed behind our van, will give us the ability to transport most of the things that we could with a pickup truck. It has a 5'x10' bed and 15" sides. The fold down tail gate also has built in ramps that will allow us to load an ATV or lawn tractor. Best of all, we spent a tenth of what we would have on even a decent used pickup and we should be able to deduct the purchase on our taxes.

Specs

Do you have a utility trailer or pickup truck for your homesteading needs? Let us know about your experience in the comments below.

My video is at DLive


Canadian renegade Logo


img

Join Us On Discord

Thanks for reading everyone! Please upvote, follow, and resteem to support this work. As always, comments are welcome.

Sort:  

Oops I'm too late on this one. I am super behind on reading and commenting.

We have a flatbed trailer we use to hauling stuff. So I think this is a great and wise buy for now...until you need a longer bed. The ramps are big time BONUS. Nothing like lifting a heavy load up on to the bed to make you wish you had a trailer with ramps.

It's all good, we all get busy. At some point it will probably make sense to upgrade to something bigger with a higher payload but I think this will work for now. I hauled a 16' metal gate with it last weekend!

It’s always a good idea to have a trailer. I have a 8x10 trailer that has hauled sand,gravel and all kinds of building materials. Short of tires it will last forever, and i share it with my son for his ATV/smowmobles. This is a very good investment 😀

It seemed to make sense to me but I am glad your experience is confirmatory. 🙂

Neato! But keep those belts tight. Nobody ever got rich by writing checks.

Very true. I see a lot of people spend a lot more then they need to, to get things done.

Trailers are just a total multi-tasker! Great investment! We sent ours back to California with our in-laws last year and even though we have a pick up truck, there's been a few times where we could have used the trailer. Looking forward to seeing what you carry around in that thing! 😉

Thanks. I think we will get good use out of it. Even moving furniture and stuff once the house is complete will be easier with this at our disposal.

Once you get livestock you would need a livestock trailer but if you are doing smaller hogs or goats you could just drop a cage frame on that trailer and strap it down. It will also work well for hauling all your supplies and even hay you would need for livestock. We had to buy a livestock trailer to haul large hogs and cows. It is not a cheap expensive and you also need a truck to pull the heavy trailer with the added weight of a bull or large hog. This will be a great all around trailer for a "if you are only going to have one trailer". We will need to add a larger flat trailer for moving equipment soon but the more trailers the more tags and registration you have to pay for so I hope this one will do everything you will need at lest for awhile.

We will likely need to buy another trailer (or two) in the future but I think this will meet our needs in the short term and it wasn't a huge investment. Thanks for the additional considerations.

I have a 8x 18 two axle, and I am rebuilding a 6 x 10 single axle. I have a Full sized van and a land rover to pull them with, plus I can borrow a pickup from my brother.

Depends on the job!

Sounds like you are well equipped.

I just found a Gator with a dump bed, adding it will get me closer to well equipped! :)

Oh nice. Sounds like a fun way of being well equipped! ;)

We will be a half mile from the lake, when we move to the new land. Now all I need is some rod holders...and maybe a rack for the canoe. :)

That sounds fun. When is the move?

Already bought the land, but I am converting the house to be wheel chair compatible, and upgrading it to solar power insulation levels.

Most of the demo is done, and I have started The rebuild, but she has been down a lot. I just got her home from the Hospital Monday. But I am making some progress...at blazing speed, for a snail, LOL! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16