Calculate Your House's Solar Potential - PVWatts Tutorial

in #dlive6 years ago

Thumbnail

About a year and a half ago I decided to take a solar design course. One of tools I learned about was this handy online solar design tool called PVWatts. It is a free tool that will help you to calculate the solar potential of your house or site. In this video, I walk you step-by-step through the process of using PVWatts. Enjoy!

My video is at DLive

Sort:  

nice always wondered if there was a simple way to calculate this.

Nice always wondered
If there was a simple way
To calculate this.

                 - blhz


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

PVWatts definitely simplifies things!

That does look like an extremely useful tool.

Alas it doesn't seem to cover the UK. I must see if I can find something similar for the UK.


Host of The Alternative Lifestyle Show on MSP Waves Radio.

Editor of the Weekly Schedule of Steem Radio Shows.

Founder of the A Dollar A Day charitable giving project.


Interesting solar project you found here @pennsif !

By the way, there is an opportunity now on the steem blockchain, were you can get anywhere from 20 usd to $80 depending on your Steem user reputation. It is the byteball airdrop to Steem Users.

First we need to Download the Byteball Wallet, and after downloading it, follow the instructions below.

Check this link from the core team devs with very simple instructions: https://steemit.com/steemit/@punqtured/official-byteball-airdrop-to-steemians

I can send you the needed funds to finish the attested process, since I already got my reward.

I made this post with the instructions: Steem Ambassadors - (Around 60 USD to 80 USD for free) - Already got mine - The Byteball Token Airdrop to Steem Token Holders

Regards, @gold84

Yeah, it is too bad it doesn't cover your area. It still might be useful to play with and read some of the help info to get an better idea of how a split system actually performs.

AhabResteems featured this article as 3rd place in my #3 resteem challenge. You will receive 20% of SBD after payout. Congrats on another great article.
https://steemit.com/homesteading/@ahabresteems/ahab-resteems-resteem-contest-winners-3

Thank you. I hope it is of use to some people.

did you know there are some solar ICO's which are crypto like stocks such as Wepower . They basicly tokenize the solar power. I think people should building smaller homes first before going solar.

I did not know about the ICO's. You are correct that living in a smaller home and limiting power consumption through smart choices is important to do before going solar

my grandparents bought a home in the 1950s that was build in the 1800s .This home would be plenty for a small family even today. The house was later expanded due to a large family they later had. But orginal part was the size of typical farm house at the time.The size of the average home keeps getting bigger and bigger but the size of the family has not. Its the size of the stuff. In many cases people have whole rooms they barely use.

I have seen this first hand. It is interesting how a 1000 sqft house used to be big enough for a family with 4-7 children and now a family with one kid thinks they require twice that.

i think people who can not afford solar could start with a solar water heating system

That is something else we are sort of planning for. We are insulating the basement and running in floor heating pipe but we don't have the money right now to add the solar water panels or wood fired boiler.

where I am a tool such as I never found, maybe one day I will find in my city as your place

Yeah, unfortunately I think it only works in Canada and the United States.

This is great! One step closer to being self sufficient. Green Energy!!!

This is great! One step closer to being self sufficient. Green Energy!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99