Dlive Fixing the Long Term Storage Issue?? This is HUGE for the Future of the Platform

in #dlive6 years ago

Thumbnail

Hi Friends!

In this video I share my reactions to @wa7's latest post - I'm All in on DLive, Are You? I couldn't believe how many cool changes he announced. As I read through the post - my eyes kept growing bigger and bigger.

The one that caught my eye the most was the move away from IPFS to a more centralized server option. You guys... this is everything. We talk a lot about attracting content creators to the platform, and video content is a huge component of how people consumer information these days.

I am a libertarian, volunteerist and freedom minded thinker - which means decentralization is something I hold in high regard. I think in the end though... it has to make sense. Let's face it... if someone goes to watch a video on Dlive and it doesn't load right away... do you think they will come back to watch it later? Ummm nope. What about telling a big YouTuber that their videos won't be able to play a few weeks after they are posted? We won't have a chance of attracting more of these quality users without fixing playability and long term storage.

Want to know how YouTube is able to accomplish this? With centralized servers... plain and simple. I am really proud of @dlive for making this move and it makes me incredibly excited for the future of the platform.

I am looking forward to seeing the official DLive update as they start to roll-out exactly how this will work and what their plans are.

Please watch my Dlive vlog for more of my thoughts on the matter! I'd love to hear what you think on the topic of decentralization vs. finding a solution that works more consistently.

Thanks so much for watching this video and I look forward to chatting with you guys below!

XO, Lea

21D684CB-CA72-4207-9485-43D5D4994863.gif

My video is at DLive

Sort:  

Nice logical, explanation. I agree too that we need a long term, reliable centralized source. Decentralization works in some aspects but not all. I love your consistency when you post! You are so radiant as well!

aww thank you @fitmisc! Thanks for your input on decentralization too.

Centralization is not the solution, it just worsens the situation as you lose control over your data. The moment the centralized server shuts down you're out of choice. Storing thousands of videos is not free. With IPFS you could mirror your content in order for it to be preserved, or better yet, pay for it to be preserved with a proportion of the payouts.
As decentralized storage markets like filecoin are still in development and are not yet an option D.Tube opted to pay @nannal 2.5% of the video payouts for hosting. It seems strange to me why videos with $100+ in payouts fail to load after a few days, which should be plenty to host it for months. Maybe @nannal is failing to carry out the deal, maybe they need to adjust payout proportions, anyway the problem is not IPFS.
How is DLive going to pay for that centralized hosting? Why not just pay for good IPFS hosting?

Thanks for your thoughts and insights @hueso! In theory, I would much prefer to use IPFS as well, but in reality - it has had major issues . On both DTube and DLive. I haven't heard "paying for long term storage" with a percentage of the payouts as an option - is that something that is currently available to content creators - or are you suggesting it as a potential solution?

How DLive will pay for centralized hosting - i'm not sure. This is something i've actually been really curious about and i'm sure they will share more details on as they move forward.

Paying for long term storage is already happening at D.Tube since its launch, it is described in its introductory post. D.Tube is relying on a centralized service (@ipfsstore) which is in charge of the long term storage and is receiving a fraction of the payouts for this job, and it is failing at it. So the problem comes from a centralized hosting failing, not IPFS.

BTW when you add a video to IPFS it doesn't get split into different computers. What happens is that any computer that grabs your video (or a piece of it) is immediately able to retransmit it to another computer, just like bittorrent. So the more popular a video is the more bandwidth it gets. Otherwise a centralized server would be clogged if many people were to watch a video at the same time, not to mention the bandwidth costs. (Storage is costly but also bandwidth).

I'm glad DLive is tackling the video availability issues and I hope this helps to bring more users to the platform but we are barking the wrong tree if we blame IPFS for those issues.

Nail on the head. Thank you.

I have been struggling with the long term storage issue now for several months.

It seemed to be absurd to be promoting DTube / DLive to YouTubers when no permanent storage was in place.

This issue really had/has the potential to come back and bite the D's in the...

Thank you putting this out there, and congratulations to DLive for taking the bull by the horns.


Host of The Alternative Lifestyle Show on MSP Waves Radio.

Editor of the Weekly Schedule of Steem Radio Shows.

Founder of the A Dollar A Day charitable giving project.


Thanks @coruscate! Great summary!

I've been posting to Dtube recently and just found out about how they delete our old videos which is is a big deal for me.

I was considering posting to both Dlive and Dtube though didn't want to spam people so I think I'll move everything to Dlive for now and maybe repost some content on Dtube moving forward.

It's been a difficult decision to find clear information on and I do like both platforms.

I just feel the flexibility, potential for community relationship building and legacy videos add up to too much for me to stay out of Dlive.

Do you have any particular rules of thumb when spreading content between Dlive and Dtube?

Oooh great questions!

So here's what I think. Some people will duplicate post on Dtube and Dlive - but I think that is generally seen in bad taste as "double dipping' to try and get both votes. Both platforms tend to frown upon resposting older content too - you are more likely to get support from a fresh piece of content.

To work around the long term storage issue - I actually upload to YouTube as a backup. If you look at most of my posts - they will have a YouTube link embedded in the bottom. That way, if anyone has issues playing the videos- they can still consume my content. It's also nice to know they are permanently stored somewhere.

I feel ya on the Dtube storage thing though. I didn't realize that for months and now have lost lots of videos that I would have enjoyed keeping. Oh well... live and learn I guess!

If you have any other questions on any of this - let me know!

Cheers for taking the time to share a range of tips!
The double posting thing didn't resonate with me either.

I'll go back and add a youtube embed to my old Dtube posts now... Though I've just started vlogging so I will blast out the 9 vlog backlog on Dlive in the next week.... The older mindfulness videos can stay on youtube for now 😃

After insights from yourself and many others I've decided to migrate to Dlive:
https://dlive.io/video/ianperic/2a213280-86c8-11e8-adb2-bf4283a63cb9

I'm so glad I could help! Feel free to hit me up with questions anytime. :)

Dlive star ;)

Congratulations @coruscate! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

oh yay! These are great news!! Thanks for sharing, I had no idea.

Wow this is very useful video. As i am pretty new on steemit and all the other platforms, it is very hard to choose one of all platforms where to post my videos. So i might consider concentrating on dlive or ?

Thank you for the information, your video is very motivated

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87