The Most Adventurous Thing to Do in Berlin, Germany - Base Flying Video

in #dlive6 years ago (edited)

Berlin, Germany

Moving on with my Europe series (click here to see my adventure in Barcelona) I find myself in Berlin, Germany. I have some friends in Berlin that I promised to visit. So I did. True story. These were people I haven't seen since high school. And that was a long time ago. I am getting old.

Of course, I can't go to a place and not have some adventures. This is ME we're talking about. The first thing that shows up in a Google search of 'adventures in Berlin' is Jochen Schweizer. They offer several different extreme adventures in the city. One of them involved free falling from the tallest building in the city. I'm like, "SOLD".

Thumbnail

They call this activity Base Flying. I'm not so sure why, since there is no flying involved. I guess Base Dropping doesn't sound as cool. The way it works is they put a harness on you, connect that to a cable, then you freefall down the 37-story Park Inn until the cable stops you from turning into a flapjack. Cool, right?

vlcsnap-2018-05-11-16h46m34s629.png
Like walking the plank from the top of a skyscraper

My friend, Stefanie, wouldn't do this with me but she was allowed to observe me from the roof and be my camera girl. We got a great view of Berlin from the roof since it's right downtown. But looking down to the ground 125 meters below me did get my nerves going. That's a long way to fall.

It took them 3 tries before they got my harness to fit me correctly. I guess the girl was new. I didn't mind, they're insuring my safety, even though I did sign their waiver so they're not responsible for my death either way. They did make jokes about the safety too. I think they knew I could take it since I looked confident enough. Germans like to joke around.

vlcsnap-2018-05-11-16h48m03s653.png
Fitting the harness

The hardest part of the whole thing was being lifted by the cable and them telling me to let go of the railings so that i was freely dangling with nothing but atmosphere and gravity below me for 120 chilling meters. They did a countdown and off I went.

vlcsnap-2018-05-11-16h49m16s862.png
3... 2... 1...

That feeling you get in your stomach when you're freefalling... wow. I've gotten it before with skydiving and bungy jumping and even cliff jumping. It's what the adrenaline junkies like me get high off of.

After it was all done, they gave me a certificate of my accomplishment and a coupon for their other activities if I want to do more of them. I'll be using it next time I'm in Berlin.

Have you ever gotten that freefall feeling in your stomach? Do you even know what I'm talking about? Haha.
Would you be brave enough to do this?

Fade Into Darkness (ETERNUM Remix) by Avicii (Rest in peace)
https://m.soundcloud.com/eternumofficial
Temporare by Isolated
https://soundcloud.com/isolateyourmind

My video is at DLive

Sort:  

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable mentions list in today's Travel Digest #202

Thanks so much! Checking it out now.

What a crazy adventure! Ahh!!! Good to see you traveling the world and not sick!
I also wanted to let you know that I (finally) created a post about steemitworldmap!
https://steemit.com/busy/@katysavage/what-is-steemitworldmap-and-how-you-can-use-it
I hope it comes in handy for you!

Cool, i'll check it out.

Congratulations! Your high quality-travel content caught our attention and has earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content. Thank you for using #travelfeed

Transparent-Discord-Travel.png

You are welcome brather

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=daveonarrival
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=3fba55f0-5549-11e8-8cf9-1b93be2e52ab


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Are you planning to do this in all the countries?

I try to find the best adventures in each country I go to, yes.

Wow!!!! Dude that's awesome! Have you also jumped out of a plane? What do you think about the difference between doing that and this?

I think I wasn't as bothered by this because I had already jumped out of a plane. I've also bungy jumped too. Once you do those you have less fear.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70181.59
ETH 3549.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.74